Skip to main content
Welcome ENG 4336 Students
Use this guide to find tips and links to information to help with your research on Shakespeare's sonnets.
On this home page you'll find links to the Oxford English Dictionary as well as key databases and other resources for finding books, articles and critical commentary. Also here are some of the technology resources available at FSU Libraries.
On the Recordings and Pronunciation page you'll find a selection of online readings of the sonnets as well as resources about the pronunciation of Elizabethan English.
Image: CC BY 2.0 Provenance Online Project
Technology available at FSU Libraries
FSU Libraries offers equipment and software for recording audio and video. We can also help with questions. Strozier's Tech Center is located at the checkout station on the first floor. Stop by for advice and help with your tech problems.
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary*
The OED traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The online OED includes a Historical Thesaurus and Timelines.
English in Time
The editors of the Oxford English Dictionary provide articles tracing the story of English from the Anglo-Saxons to the modern day. Expert overviews are combined with accounts of key episodes and themes to introduce you to the history of English.
Use these databases to find articles on Shakespeare and his writings. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your FSUID and password.
To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Shakespeare
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides on a wide variety of topics. Find introductory essays and annotated lists of books and articles to help you with your research.
MLA International Bibliography
Multilingual index to books and journals in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from 1926-present
An archive of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals.
Use the FSU catalog to find books about Shakespeare's sonnets.
Here are a couple of advanced tips for searching the catalog:
- Search by subject heading to find more relevant books on your topic. The subject heading for the sonnets is Shakespeare, William -- 1564-1616 -- Sonnets.
- Use the menu to the left of your search results to narrow down your results.