Use this guide to prepare for class assignments and the group projects:
The Getting Started page includes relevant reference books or tools to relevant background information (encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies etc.)
The Books page provides a search box to the FSU Libraries catalog, a list of relevant subject headings to search various catalogs, and a list of other catalogs and possible methods for locating and requesting materials not available at FSU.
Use the Articles page to locate appropriate article databases, search for theses and dissertations, and digital historical newspapers.
The Government and Primary Sources page provides descriptions to collections of materials including documents, maps, images, and video. It also lists archives of relevance to resistance movements.
The Annotated Bibliography page provides information on how to prepare an annotated bibliography including format and content.
Information about hundreds of cases of nonviolent action for learning and for citizen action. A project of Swarthmore College, including Peace and Conflict Studies, the Peace Collection, and the Lang Center for Civic and Social Responsibility.
A private foundation providing educational resources related to civil resistance, covering a wide range nonviolent tactics such as strikes, boycotts, mass demonstrations, acts of noncooperation, and civil disobedience.
A source for news and analysis about struggles for justice and peace around the globe.
The International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest
by Immanuel Ness (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book (On Order)
Publication Date: 2009
Provides information regarding major uprisings and protest movements, and the ideas, ideologies and activists that propelled them, chronicles the manner in which they unfolded, traces their roots, goals, tactics, and influence, and evaluates their successes and failures. Includes over 150 photographs, figures, and maps.
The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements
by David A. Snow (Editor) et. al.
Call Number: E-Book (On Order)
Publication Date: 2013
Covers a broad range of historical and modern topics reflecting significant social and political changes from the French revolution, to the Chinese Communist Revolution, the global women's movement, to the Arab Spring, and from the American civil rights movement to contemporary environmentalism.
This 4 volume encyclopedia charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, focusing on historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. This resource includes information about major figures, major events, organizations, theories, and much more. Contains a bibliography for further reading, a peace timeline and an index.
Examines issues such as modern warfare, conflict, violence, peace, police brutality, aggression in sports, television violence, animal aggression and more. The set is "broken down into 15 subject areas covering approximately 200 different issues. Each article is about 9,000 words, including a definition of the subject, illustrations, glossaries, and bibliographies.
Revolutionary Movements in World History
by James DeFronzo (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book On Order
Publication Date: 2006
International Handbook of Peace and Reconciliation
by Kathleen Malley-Morrison (Editor); Andrea Mercurio (Editor); Gabriel Twose (Editor)
Call Number: On order
Publication Date: 2013
This text "examines and analyzes how people around the world think about justice, governmental apologies, the right to protest, the peace process, the justifiability of armed conflict, the possibility of world peace, and reconciliation."
This Collection includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas. Subject coverage is especially diverse and equipped to address all key disciplines.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
A search of the Gale Virtual Reference Library helps you find electronic reference books published by Gale. Gale is very easy to use especially because you can look through its entire collection with a single search.
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later. Oxford Reference Online contains over 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian, and Spanish.
Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
(previously Biography Resource Center +The Complete Marquis Who's Who)
Biography and Genealogy Master Index enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources. This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
A ground-breaking and engaging reference work providing 58,700 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.