Skip to main content

IFS 2075 Foundations of Research & Inquiry

The purpose of this e-series freshman honors seminar is to advance library research, writing skills, and critical thinking skills.

Research Help Now!

Click the image below to learn more about our Research Help Now desk, which provides walk-in research help!

Any of our reference associates will be happy to help you find whatever you need for your project.

You may also email emann@fsu.edu for more information.

Class dates and locations

Fall 2017

  • 9.28 (Scholars Commons 0005A) – Informed Consumption of Sources 
    • Internet Source Evaluation and Critical Thinking 

                          

    • Peer Reviewed Vs. Popular Journals
    News and Opinion General Interest Scholarly Journals 
    Time Atlantic  Criminology 
    The Nation Harper's  Social Issues and Policy Review 
    National Review  Mother Jones Journal of Marriage and Family 
    Newsweek  New Yorker Public Opinion Quarterly
    U.S. News  Utne Reader  American Behavioral Scientist 
             Poll Everywhere Question
          Primary vs. Secondary Resources  

  • 10.3 (Scholars Commons 0005A) – Introduction to Databases and Citation Management 
    • Assignment 1 Due
    • Multidisciplinary Databases 
      • Academic Search Complete
      • JSTOR
      • ProQuest Databases
    • Citation Management: RefWorks/EndNote/Zotero
    • Purdue OWL
    • Avoiding Plagiarism
    • Paraphrasing
    • Note Taking

  • 10.19 (Scholars Commons 0005A) – Subject Specific Databases
    • Sociological Abstracts
    • PsycINFO
    • Criminal Justice Abstracts

  • 10.24 (Scholars Commons 0005A) – Subject Specific Databases
    • Key Word Search Exercise
    • Lexis-Nexis

  • 10.26 (Learning Commons 107A) – Science
    • Web of Science
    • Pub Med
    • ERIC

  • 10.31 (Learning Commons 107A) – Zotero
    • Assignment 2 Draft Due
    • In-class Presentations
    • Zotero
      • Introduction
      • Citing from web
      • Organizing/Importing

  • 11.2 (Learning Commons 107A) – Plagiarism and Paraphrasing
    • In-class Presentations
    • Avoiding Plagiarism Reminder
    • Paraphrasing Correctly

  • 11.21 (Learning Commons 107A) – Citing and Bibliographies
    • In-class Presentations
    • Citing Sources
      • In text
      • Quotes
    • Purdue OWL

Note: Whatever we do not cover during one session will be covered the next class.

Assessment Librarian

Kirsten Kinsley's picture
Kirsten Kinsley
Contact:
116 Honors Way
Strozier Library - 206
645-9347
Skype Contact
Social:Twitter Page

Social Sciences Research & Data Librarian

Dr. Jesse Klein's picture
Dr. Jesse Klein
Contact:
027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library
(850) 645-6323

Question for the day

What is the most difficult part about doing research?

Answer here: PollEv.com/fsuresearch

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706