Map of the Library
RefWorks and Zotero
Children and Youth Literature ResourcesProfessional Organizations
This is the "Home" page of the "Library and Information Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library and Information Studies   Tags: &, goldstein, information, library, lis, mlis, science, slis, student, studies  

The guide is intended to assist students in the Library and Information Sciences field with their research and professional pursuits.
Last Updated: Apr 16, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/LIS Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide is intended to provide assistance to students in the library and information studies field with their research.

 

Search the FSU Catalog

Find books, music, movies and more...
(hints)

advanced
| course reserves | renewals / library account

 

Virtual Reference Service

Click on the icon above to access Ask a Librarian.

Goldstein library offers local chat service during all the hours it is open

You can also use Ask A Librarian Mobile Sevices to Text Or Email us.

Key Resources

Here you will find links to some of the databases that index periodicals and publications relevant for the library and information studies. Remember access to these databases require authentication!

  • LISTA Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts  
    Rating
    Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text indexes more than 600 periodicals, more than 100 are available in full-text plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
  • Library Literature and Information Full Text  
    Rating
    This database was created by librarians for librarians. Indexing English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year since 1984, it is the definitive index in the library and information science field. It delivers full text articles cover to cover from over a hundred select publications since 1994. Includes PDF page images of the full text articles.
  • ACM Digital Library  
    Rating
    Full-text access to all ACM journals, magazines, and Special Interest Group conference proceedings. A wide range of computer- and information-science topics are covered from 1947 to the present.
  • Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science  
    Rating
    This online product corresponds to the second edition of a multi-volume standard authoritative reference source for librarians and libraries. Provides a comprehensive overview of the topic with articles by highly-respected professionals. The new edition updates traditional topics with information on SFX, metadata, the Open Archives Initiative, etc. Contains extensive bibliographies.
  • Computer & Information Systems Abstracts  
    Rating
    Jointly published with Engineering Information, this database provides a comprehensive monthly update on the latest theoretical research and practical applications around the world from 1981 to present.
  • PALMM: Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials  
    Rating
    PALMM (Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials) is a program of the libraries of the Florida Board of Education's Division of Colleges and Universities (DCU) designed to provide support to individual and cooperative digital library initiatives.
 

Library Highlight

Goldstein Library's Digital Juvenile Collection

 

UBORROW services are available: Starting March 2011, eligible students from the state universities of Florida can now request any material available from the Union Catalog of the State University libraries (37 university library branches throughout Florida).

When you locate an item in the Union Catalog  http://union.catalog.fcla.edu/ux.jsp” that is available at any state university libraries of Florida you may "Uborrow" it - request and have it delivered to you at any of the 33 different locations in Florida.

Items that you request using Uborrow services will be delivered to your  choice of Florida libraries within 5-6 working days.

 

   Check out Goldstein Library on Facebook & Tweeter

Assistant Librarian

Leila Gibradze
Contact Info
Goldstein Library, Shores Building
(850) 645-8418
Send Email

THE Librarian for YOU

Profile Image
Pam Doffek
SKYPE: pam.doffek1
Logo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Goldstein Library, Shores Building
850 644-0461
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kristen Gurciullo
 

Library at CCI

Goldstein Library

Shores Building (LSB) - Campus Map

Phone: (850) 644-1803

Send email

Hours for Spring 2012

Monday-Thursday:

7:30am–1pm

Friday:

7:30am–5pm

Saturday:

10am – 6pm

Sunday:

1pm–10pm

CLOSED:

MLK: January 16th

Easter: April 8th

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip