Skip to main content
Welcome to the FSU Libraries' American Literature Research Guide. Use these resources to research topics in American literature and language.
American Literary Scholarship
Features bibliographic essays arranged by writer and time period, from pre-1800 to the present. Each volume of American Literary Scholarship covers content from two years previous to the volume.
Available online 1998-present
Available in print 1963-2007 (PS3.A47)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online*
Containing over 200,000 volumes, including books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides nearly every English and foreign language title published in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, as well as several thousand works from the Americas.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library contains millions of books digitized from library collections across the country. FSU users have access to many full text documents and can create new collections of material. To learn how to log into HathiTrust using Shibboleth see our guide to HathiTrust (http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/hathitrust).
MLA International Bibliography
Multilingual index to books and journals in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from 1926-present
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) contains collections of full-text primary source material related to the study of history, literature, arts and more during the long 19th century. Current collections are: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and British Politics and Society.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - American Literature
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides on a wide variety of topics. Find introductory essays and annotated lists of books and articles to help you with your research.