This guide will get you started on basic company research.The databases listed in the Analysis tab will help you analyze target companies. The Article tab with help you to find articles about a specific company. The Rankings page with help you to place the company with it's peers.
A SWOT analysis is a subjective assessment of data which is organized by the SWOT format into a logical order that helps understanding, presentation, discussion and decision-making. The four dimensions are a useful extension of a basic two heading list of pro's and con's.
This is also know as the “Cash Cow” model. The BCG matrix method is based on the product life cycle theory that can be used to determine what priorities should be given in the product portfolio of a business unit. To ensure long-term value creation, a company should have a portfolio of products that contains both high-growth products in need of cash inputs and low-growth products that generate a lot of cash.
Go to your company web site first. This example uses Google. Check the Investors section, which on Google's page is "Our Company" and then "Investor Relations." Look at the SEC filings, listen to the latest quarterly earnings report. Open the 10K and read the Management Discussion
The Management Discussion in the 10K discusses how the company's strategy is going - they could mention obstacles why they are not executing & discuss future directions
Check these databases to locate company information. Often these databases are updated only weekly or monthly so check Lexis/Nexis for up-to-the-minute company news. Beware of the source of the information, wether a professional analyst or the compay itself.
Global company & industry reports. Company profiles include history,list of all products & services, location & subsidiaries, and often have a SWOT analysis.
Details: Locate articles from over 8,500 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Additional full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, faculty seminars (videos), and more.
Format: Full text, HTML, PDF
Coverage: Varies by publication, as early as, 1886, some titles are available from Issue 1, Volume
Right column, under Publication Search, select Stock Report and enter the name of your public company. Short report covers business description and some corporate strategy, as well as 10 years of financials.
Details: Provides information on over 17 million worldwide companies. Comprehensive company profiles, including corporate history, executives, products/operations data, financials, and news, provided for US public and top private businesses. Hoover’s Academic provides a view of the competitive landscape and industry benchmarks, as well as, the ability to generate lists of companies and executives in targeted functions or industries within specific geographic regions by specific criteria.
Format: Content available in html for viewing. Download profiles to PDF.
Coverage: Updated daily, data back 10 years.