Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is an eBook platform that includes access to encyclopedias, specialized reference sources, and general eBook titles of all disciplines. GVRL is designed to enable users to easily cross-search all the content to pinpoint relevant material. Detailed subject indexing allows users to search content based on subject, title, document type, and more.
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later. Oxford Reference Online contains over 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian, and Spanish.
A comprehensive database for historical research not included in other bibliographies. Covers historical disciplines, such as Archaeology, Byzantine studies, German language and literature studies, History of art and music, Philosophy, Romance Studies, and Theology.
Formerly Biography in Context, Biography Resource Center+The Complete Marquis Whos Who. Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
A biographical and methodological database intended as a beginning point to learning the background of major art historians of western art history. A free, copyrighted, scholarly database for the use of researchers, students and the public.
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources. Users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.
The Alliance for the Arts is a New York-based advocacy group for the arts. They publish information on the arts and cultural events in New York City as well as studies highlighting the importance of the arts to the economy and to education nationwide.
Dia was founded in New York City in 1974 to help artists achieve visionary projects that might not otherwise be realized because of scale or scope. To suggest the institution’s role in enabling such ambitions, they selected the name “Dia,” taken from the Greek word meaning “through.”
NYARC consists of the research libraries of three leading art museums in New York City: The Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and The Museum of Modern Art. NYARC was formed in 2006 to facilitate collaboration that results in enhanced resources to research communities.
The President’s Committee on the Arts and the Humanities (PCAH) works directly with the three primary cultural agencies—National Endowment for the Arts, the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Institute of Museum and Library Services—as well as other partners to address policy questions in the arts and humanities, to initiate and support key programs in those disciplines and to recognize excellence in the field. Its core areas of focus are arts and humanities education, cultural exchange, and creative economy.