Assembled by Walter Toscanini, son of the famed Italian conductor, and his wife the La Scala ballerina Cia Fornaroli, the collection documents the full sweep of Italian dance history from the Renaissance to the early twentieth century.
Thousands of photographs of Indonesian costumes, theatrical performances, and dance movements taken by scholar Claire Holt and others, collected by her in travels through the region in the 1930s and later.
The Digital Public Library of America is a free, online library that provides access to millions of books, photographs, maps and audiovisual materials and more from libraries, museums and archives across the United States.
A portal to +20 million digital items from +1,500 European archives, libraries, museums from 32 countries. In mutliple languages, the portal includes links to texts (books, newspapers, etc.), images (works of arts, maps, etc.), video (film, TV broadcasts, etc.), and sound (music, radio broadcasts). Both public domain and materials still in copyright are included. For those in copyright, you may not have complete access to the items. Links in Europeana go out to the institution hosting the digital item.
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 685,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Today, the Deutsches Tanzarchiv Köln is part of a global network of institutions and initiatives which aims to preserve our knowledge of the art of dance. As a centre of information, documentation and research, the Deutsches Tanzarchiv Köln is carrying out a task of national importance.
The Performing Arts Reading Room is the service point for the broad and diverse collections of the Music Division at the Library of Congress. Includes approximately 12 million items and spanning more than 800 years of Western music history and practice.
The National Museum of Dance & Hall of Fame was established in 1986 and is the only museum in the nation dedicated to American professional dance. The Museum houses a collection of photographs, videos, artifacts, costumes, biographies and archives.