"An overview of the techniques historians must master in order to reconstruct the past. Its focus is on the basics of source criticism and is a guide for all students of history and for anyone who must extract meaning from written and unwritten sources."
A ground-breaking and engaging reference work providing 58,700 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000.
American National Biography
by John A. Garraty; Mark C. Carnes; American Council of Learned Societies Staff (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 1999
The ANB contains concise but informative biographical sketches of more than 17,000 people. Biographical entries are followed by excellent bibliographies listing important archival and secondary resources about the person; relevant web sites are also included for a number of entries.
The African American Biographical Database is a resource of first resort when you are looking for biographical information, including photographs and illustrations, for African Americans. From the famous to the everyday person, AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and illuminating narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans.
Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
(previously Biography Resource Center +The Complete Marquis Who's Who)
Wilson’s largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources. This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
This Collection includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas. Subject coverage is especially diverse and equipped to address all key disciplines.
Oxford Reference Online contains over 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian, and Spanish.
A search of the Gale Virtual Reference Library helps you find electronic reference books published by Gale. Gale is very easy to use especially because you can look through its entire collection with a single search.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Pt.1 East Asia: China, Japan, Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau (Macao).
Pt.2 South Asia: India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka (Ceylon).
Pt.3 Southeast Asia: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam.
Pt.4 Central Asia: Mongolia, Central Asian republics, Tibet.
V. 1. Ancient science (forthcoming) -- v. 2. Medieval science / edited by David C. Lindberg, Michael H. Shank -- v. 3. Early modern science / edited by Katharine Park, Lorraine Daston -- v. 4. Eighteenth-century science / edited by Roy Porter -- v. 5. The modern physical and mathematical sciences / edited by Mary Jo Nye -- v. 6. The modern biological and earth sciences / edited by Peter Bowler, John Pickstone -- v. 7. The modern social sciences / edited by Theodore M. Porter, Dorothy Ross -- v. 8. Modern science in national and international context (forthcoming).
Provides an overview of the discipline. "Hispanic Studies" is broadly concerned with the languages and cultures of the vast "Hispanic" world, extending chronologically from Roman Hispania to today, and geographically from California in the North to Patagonia in the South, and from Majorca in the East to the Andes in the West.