Skip to main content

U.S. Government: Uncataloged material

Basic guide to get you started in researching the federal government resources both online and in the library.

FInding Uncataloged Documents

Finding Uncataloged FEDERAL Documents

Since not all of our documents are in our online catalog, it is often difficult to locate them. Below are some suggestions for locating uncataloged documents.

For Documents from These Years

Use This Index or Database

1990-Present, selectively cataloged before 1990

Libraries’ online catalog

1993-Present, for Congressional material, federal budget, etc. Constantly expanding.

FDsys

Beginning-1990s that are not in the Libraries’ OPAC

Title Card catalog on ground floor of Strozier Library

1976-Present

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

Beginning-Present (Use SuDoc call numbers from UF to see if in our collection)

University of Florida’s online catalog

1789-1976

Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents

STROZIER Doc GP3.8:1789-1976

1789-Present

Guide to U.S. Government publications. )AKA “Andriot”)

STROZIER Doc Z 1223 .Z7 A572

1885-2001

Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications

STROZIER Doc GP3.8:

1895-1899

Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications
STROZIER Doc
GP3.8: 1895-99/ Index/ 

1900-1971

Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications

STROZIER Doc GP3.8:1900-71/Index

1789-1909

Checklist of United States Public Documents

STROZIER Doc GP 3.2:C 41/2

Anytime

WorldCat (last resort) Greater likelihood to find recent documents

1830-Present (Congressional documents)

Proquest Congressional

Mostly the present, but indexes some archives

USA.gov

Useful Indexes

U.S. government sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information can be identified through the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).

 The Documents title catalog is not complete. For federal documents, it is just a title catalog and since government documents are often part of a series, it might be helpful to search for the series in the title catalog. You might not find the card for the individual title in the series, but you might find a card for the series that has the holdings. The reference book,U.S.Government Publications,often known as Andriot, is sometimes the quickest way to identify the series, if it doesn’t come up as a title search in the online catalog.

 Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909 Doc Z1223 .Z7 L45

 Attempted to list all the public documents issued by the U.S. government during this time period. However, one weakness of it is its failureto cite many pre-1895 documents due to the fact that the Office of the Superintendent of Documents was established in that year and it was difficult to obtain documents before that time.  Arrangement is by SuDoc call number with the classification number before the colon in bold face type with a listing of the publications under each number.  The beginning of the book has the Congressional Tables, starting with the14th Congress. (Congressional documents for the first 14 Congresses are part of the American State Papers which is in the Serial Set database, which is a compilation of reports and documents published by Congress since 1817. The Congressional Tables section provides additional information about the Serial Set  to help in locating a document in this set. Some of the Serial Set documents are available in print in Y1.1/2:)

 Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976. GP3.8:1789-1976/

Indexes titles published between 1789 and 1976. Alphabetical by title. Provides SuDoc call numbers.

 Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publication: 1900-1971 GP3.8:1900-71/Index   Leads you to individual years of the Monthly catalog.

Research Librarian

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706