Skip to main content

Media Services

This guide gives an overview of digital media resources offered to faculty and graduate students by the Scholar's Commons. You'll also find tutorials, links, and advice for all students.

Library Collections


 

Videos: Places to find them online


Al Jezzeera Creative Commons Repository share, remix, subtitle or reuse.
BestOnlineDocumentaries Great compilation of online documentaries.
Classic Cinema Online Action to Westerns and even old cinema shorts and news reels.


Complete Index to World Film since 1895 Over 446,000 films.

Creative Commons.Org: A blog-like listing of Creative Commons video resource sites. 
Europa Film Treasures Films from 28 European film archives.
Folkstream American folk culture, transcripts and teaching guides.

Film Annex One of the largest selections of online films for you to watch or download.
FMO: FreeMoviesOnline features a large selection of public domain films.


Free Documentaries.Org Specializes in showing provocative documentaries for free.
Hulu Feature films, television shows, web video and documentaries.
Internet Archive Digital library of cultural artifacts.
Legal Torrents Pretty much what the name says.

Mathematics in Movies Collection of movie clips in which Mathematics appears.
Blinkx Receives all content form user-submitted video RSS feeds from other sites and vlogs.



Metavid Legislative video from U.S. Congress, spanning from early 2006 to the present.


Movieclips Searchable by actor, title, genre, occasion, action, mood, character, dialogue & more!
 Moving Images Collection Library of Congress and Assoc. of Moving Image Archivists.
National Archives (NARA) in Google Video NASA, National Parks Service, and WWII newsreels.

Video Distributors

  • Ambrose Video A leading distributor of broadcast-quality documentaries and educational videos to schools, libraries and other institutions.
  • Kino International The Best In World Cinema - including European, Asian, Silent, and American Independent titles.
  • Bullfrog Films Leading US publisher of independently-produced, environmental DVDs & videos; come with educational and public performance rights.
  • California Newsreel Non-profit, U.S. educational film and video production and distribution center.
  • Documentary Educational Resources Films and videos in anthropology, ethnography, sociology and documentary.
  • Films For the Humanities & Sciences Supplier of educational media to schools, colleges and libraries.
  • Filmakers Library Documentary films that come with educational and public performance rights.
  • Green Planet Films Non-profit distributor of nature and environmental DVDs from around the globe.
  • Midwest Tapes Thousands of titles from years past and a broad selection of library audio-visual supplies.
  • Movies Unlimited Films on Blu-Ray, High Def, and Out of Print & more
  • National Film Board of Canada Hundreds of films free online - documentaries, animation and alternative dramas.
  • New Day Films Major distributor of social issues documentaries.
  • Outcast Films Media made about Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender community.
  • PBS: Videos One of the leading dot-org Web sites on the Internet.
  • Reel Stocks more than 85,000 movies for sale and 35,000 for rent. Videos and region 1 DVDs.
  • Reframe Helping individual filmmakers, broadcasters, distributors, public media organizations, archives, libraries and other media owners to digitize, market and sell work using the Internet. More>>
    Video Publishers and Vendors -- the long list

Newly Released Videos

Hard To Find Videos

Streaming Services

  • Ambrose Video 2.0 All program files are optimized for the very best quality available.
  • Chip Taylor Communications, LLC Offer over 3,500 exclusive DVDs, Digital Streaming Files and Digital Streaming Licensing.
  • SesameVault Streaming video solution. Author once deliver to multiple platforms...
  • Swank Digital Campus Campus community access to film, sound, and other electronic resources via course management system.
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706