Research Guides: *Modern Languages: Finding Articles

Periodical Indexes & Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Abbreviation: mla
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1921-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Abbreviation: galelit
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1400-Current
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Iter bibliography This link opens in a new window
Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, such as archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and science, covering the years 400–1700. It provides citations for books, journals, and essays.
Abbreviation: iter
Vendor: Iter, University of Toronto Libraries
Coverage: 1784-Current
Subjects: History, Literature, Religion, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. Updated frequently.
Abbreviation: mwgi
Vendor: University of Iowa Libraries
Coverage: 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E.
Subjects: History, Literature, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs, Open Access
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Subject coverage:
Anthropological linguistics
Applied linguistics
Descriptive linguistics
Discourse analysis
Language - pathological and normal
Learning disabilities
Nonverbal communication
Phonetics
Phonology
Psycholinguistics

Abbreviation: llba
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973-Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Asian Studies, Communication, Communication Disorders, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences APA PsycInfo covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
Topics include:

Biological and Developmental Processes
Behavioral Neuroscience
Canadian Journal of Behavioural Science/Revue canadienne des sciences du comportement
Developmental Psychology
GeroPsych: The Journal of Gerontopsychology and Geriatric Psychiatry
Journal of Comparative Psychology
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Animal Learning and Cognition
Journal of Psychophysiology
Neuropsychology
Psychology and Aging

Clinical
Crisis: The Journal of Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention
European Journal of Psychological Assessment
International Journal of Play Therapy
Journal of Abnormal Psychology
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology
Journal of Counseling Psychology
Journal of Latina/o Psychology
Journal of Psychotherapy Integration
Professional Psychology: Research and Practice
Psychoanalytic Psychology
Psychological Assessment
Psychological Services
Psychological Trauma: Theory, Research, Practice, and Policy
Psychology of Violence
Psychotherapy
Rorschachiana
Schizophrenia Bulletin
Training and Education in Professional Psychology

Cognitive/Learning/Education
Dreaming
Journal of Educational Psychology
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Human Perception and Performance
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory, and Cognition
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Psychology
School Psychology Quarterly

Core
American Psychologist
Canadian Journal of Experimental Psychology/Revue canadienne de psychologie exprimentale
Canadian Psychology/Psychologie canadienne
History of Psychology
Journal of Experimental Psychology: General
Journal of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology
Methodology: European Journal of Research Methods for the Behavioral and Social Sciences
Nordic Psychology
Psychological Bulletin
Psychological Methods
Psychological Review
Review of General Psychology
Translational Issues in Psychological Science
Zeitschrift fr Psychologie

Human Resources/Industrial/Organizational/Management
Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research
Journal of Applied Psychology
Journal of Diversity in Higher Education
Journal of Neuroscience, Psychology, and Economics
Journal of Occupational Health Psychology
Journal of Personnel Psychology

Health
Experimental and Clinical Psychopharmacology
Families, Systems, & Health
Health Psychology
International Journal of Stress Management
Psychology of Addictive Behaviors
Rehabilitation Psychology

Social Psychology and Social Processes
American Journal of Orthopsychiatry
Asian American Journal of Psychology
Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology
Emotion
Group Dynamics: Theory, Research, and Practice
Journal of Family Psychology
Journal of Latina/o Psychology
Journal of Media Psychology: Theories, Methods, and Applications
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology
Motivation Science
Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts
Psychology of Men & Masculinity
Psychology of Religion and Spirituality
Psychology, Public Policy, and Law
Social Psychology

Abbreviation: psyapa
Vendor: American Psychological Association
Coverage: 1894-Current
Subjects: Art Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Medicine, Music Education, Psychology, Sociology, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300).
Abbreviation: ftl-ind
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Communication, Film Studies, Literature
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. 160 publications are included in full text.
Subject coverage:
Dance
Theater
Film
Mime
Opera
Puppetry
Radio
Television
Storytelling
Video
Performance Art

Abbreviation: iipa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1864-Current
Subjects: Dance, Literature, Music, Theatre
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.
Abbreviation: ibtd
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Dance, Literature, Music, Theatre
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes journal articles covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450–present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Abbreviation: hist-abs
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1964-Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Contains records describing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine and allied historical fields. Citations reflect the contents of more than 1,000 journals, and partial contents of several hundred more.
Abbreviation: hist-scitech
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: *General Science, History
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Iter bibliography This link opens in a new window
Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, such as archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and science, covering the years 400–1700. It provides citations for books, journals, and essays.
Abbreviation: iter
Vendor: Iter, University of Toronto Libraries
Coverage: 1784-Current
Subjects: History, Literature, Religion, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. Updated frequently.
Abbreviation: mwgi
Vendor: University of Iowa Libraries
Coverage: 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E.
Subjects: History, Literature, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs, Open Access

Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals. Provides multidisciplinary indexing of all fields of arts and humanities, including dance, film, radio and television, language, music and literature.
Tutorials:
Web of Science Tutorials

Abbreviation: wokah
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1975-Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Studio Art
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic and metaphysics. It is also a rich source of material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, religion and science.
Abbreviation: philindex
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1940-Current
Subjects: Religion, Philosophy
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Art Index Retrospective and Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective: 1929–1984 provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. Art Full Text is a foundational art research database providing full-text art journals and books. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture.
Abbreviation: artind
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1929-1984
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
ABM is used by students and researchers around the world to pinpoint publications and writings relevant to their area of study. Its extensive classification system and comprehensive abstracts make it an ideal source for information on artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, and crafts.

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database)

Abbreviation: artbibmod
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966-Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index provides materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Subject coverage:
Administration of justice
Agriculture, forestry and fishing
Banking and finance
Business and service sector
Culture and religion
Economic conditions
Education
Energy resources and policy
Environment
Government
Health conditions
Human rights
International Relations
Labor conditions and policy
Law and ethics
Manufacturing and industry
Media and communications
Military and defense policy
Politics
Population and demographics
Science and technology
Social conditions
Trade
Transportation

Abbreviation: pais
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1972-Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886-Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies.
Subject coverage:
Culture and social structure
Family and marriage
History and theory of sociology
Organizational sociology
Political sociology
Poverty and homelessness
Race and ethnicity
Social change and economic development
Social control
Sociology of health and medicine
Sociology of education

Abbreviation: socabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1963-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, Human Development & Family Science, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video. All sections of CIAO are updated monthly.
Abbreviation: ciaonet
Vendor: Columbia University Press
Coverage: 1991-Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Tutorials:
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665-present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993).
[*http://muse.uq.edu.au/journals Mirror server if link is not working.]

Abbreviation: muse
Vendor: The Johns Hopkins University Press
Coverage: 1993Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Find current and archived state, national, and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,500 newspapers and other news sources including the Miami Herald (5/19/82–Current), Orlando Sentinel (4/1/85–Current), and USA Today (7/1/87–Current). Also includes: Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
Log into NewsBank and create an account to save your search history, save articles, save searches, and create Email alerts.

To Create an Alert
- Enter a search that you're interested in.
- On the results page click on Set up an Alert.
- Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering.
- Specify the frequency by which you'd like to receive your alerts.
- If there are new results, NewsBank will send them to you in an email.
Please note that FSU does not having a data-mining subscription with Newsbank, downloading entire series or papers is prohibited.

Abbreviation: awn
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1903-Current
Subjects: Communication, Hospitality
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch™ includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses.
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native Peoples
Abbreviation: ethnicnews2
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Asian Studies, Communication, History, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Newspapers and Newswires
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank is a Web-based collection of primary source information from regional, national and international newspapers, newswires, government and international documents, regional business journals and, periodicals.

Please note that FSU does not having a data-mining subscription with NewsBank, downloading entire series or papers is prohibited.
This database includes:
NPR Transcripts from 1990-Current
Broadcast Transcripts from Nightly News local and national
World & US Newswires
Current full text of major metro newspaper articles

Log into NewsBank and create an account to save your search history, save articles, save searches, and create Email alerts.

To Create an Alert:

Enter a search that you're interested in.
On the results page click on Set up an Alert.
Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering.
Specify the frequency by which you'd like to receive your alerts.
If there are new results, NewsBank will send them to you in an email.

Abbreviation: infoweb
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1789-Current
Type: Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
WNA Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
WNA Latin American Newspapers is part of the World Newspaper Archive (Readex, a division of NewsBank) and in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries includes dates and eras, languages, places of publication, and newspaper titles of Latin American Newspapers. The collection contains more than 1.2 million pages of content.
Abbreviation: latinnews
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1822-1922
Subjects: History, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires

*Modern Languages

Periodical Indexes & Databases

App for Research: Browzine