Skip to main content

U.S. Budget: Government Documents

Browsing the Documents

Congressional Budget Office call numbers are located on the ground floor of Strozier in the Documents collection. Most are in our online catalog. Below are the key publications, if you would prefer to browse:

Y10.2:     General publications

Y10.8:     Handbooks, Manuals, Guides

Y10.9:     Background Papers

Y10.12:   Budget Issue Papers

Y10.13:   The Economic and Budget Outlook

Y10.16:   Budget Projections

Y10.17:   Economic and Budget Outlook, an update

Y10.19:   An Analysis of the President's Budgetary Proposals for fiscal year...

Budget of the United States Government

  1. Budget of the United States Government, 1996-Present (GPO): A collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
  1. Budget of the United States Government, 1921- (Federal Reserve Archive)
  1. Current Budget of the US (Office of Management and Budget): Contains the Budget Message of the President, information on the President’s priorities, budget overviews organized by agency, and summary tables.
  1. Government Finance Statistics (US Census Bureau): Includes revenues, expenditures, debt, and assets (cash and security holdings).
  1. Budget (Congressional Budget Office): Includes semiannual reports on the budget and economic outlook, annual reports on the President's budget and the long-term budget picture, and a biannual set of options for reducing budget deficits. CBO also prepares cost estimates and mandate statements for nearly all bills that are reported by Congressional committees.
  1. Economic Report of the President (GPO): Annual report of the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. Overviews the nation's economic progress. Economic reports are transmitted to Congress no later than 10 days after the submission of the Budget.
  1. Archived Consumer Price Index Detailed Report Information (2000 -): Tables only available 2000-2007.
  1. Description of the President's Budget Proposals: Published by the Joint Committee Staff, this publication is a description of revenue provisions contained in the President's annual budget.
  1. Economic Indicators of the United States (Federal Reserve Archive).
  1. Financial Report of the United States Government (Bureau of Fiscal Service, U.S. Department of the Treasury).
  1. Survey of Current Business, 1921 - : (Bureau of Economic Analysis).
  1. A Glossary of Terms Used in the Federal Budget Process (U.S. Government Accountability Office).

Websites

House Committee on the Budget

Loading

Research Librarian

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706