Skip to main content

Physics & Astronomy: Finding Articles

Information for Research in the Physical Sciences.

Journal Abbreviations

To find the full title of a journal or a correct way to abbreviate journal title for citations, check out the following places:

CASSI: Chemical Abstracts Abbreviation Search (CASSI)

Journal Titles Abbreviations (from Amerian Institute of Physics)

ADS Journal abbreviations (from the SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System )

All that JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources)


Google Scholar Search

Search partial and complete citations in Google Scholar for fast connection to physics resources both online and in the University Libraries catalog.

Google Scholar Search

InterLibrary Loan

If the FSU Libraries do not have the article that you'd want, place an Interlibrary Loan request.

Search the Library for The Sciences

Open Access Resources

In addition to the Key Resources, the following open access files are important to study Physics.

Additional Database Resources

  • Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (Full archive)

    Cover the literature from 1974 to present, the index covers meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs.

  • Compendex & INSPEC
    Engineering Index with over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 5,600 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical reports. Coverage from 1884 to the present.

    Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical

  • Web of Science

High Impact Journals

List of high-impact journals in physics, categorized by fields and sorted by journal impact factor
(Source: JCR 2012 )

Search the FSU Libraries catalog at Catalog Search box on the right.
If it is not available at FSU Libraries, use Interlibrary Loan to request an article.

Astronomy & Astrophysics  Applied
Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics  Nature Materials 
Astrophysical Journal Supplement Series  Nature Photonics 
Living Reviews in Solar Physics  Advanced Materials 
Astronomy and Astrophysics Review  Materials Science & Engineering R-Reports 
Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences  Nano Letters 
Astrophysical Journal  Advanced Energy Materials 
Astrophysical Journal Letters  Advanced Functional Materials 
Journal of Cosmology and Astroparticle Physics  Laser & Photonics Reviews 
Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society  Small 
Space Science Reviews  Laser Physics Letters 
Atomic, Molecular & Chemical  Condensed Matter
Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters  Nature Materials 
Progress in Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy  Advances in Physics 
Journal of Chemical Theory and Computation  Surface Science Reports 
Advances in Chemical Physics  Annual Review of Condensed Matter Physics 
International Reviews In Physical Chemistry  Advanced Materials 
Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics  Nano Letters 
ChemPhysChem Advanced Energy Materials 
Journal of Chemical Physics  Advanced Functional Materials 
Physical Review A  Laser & Photonics Reviews 
Journal of Physical Chemistry A  Small 
Fluids & Plasmas Mathematical 
Annual Review of Fluid Mechanics  Computer Physics Communications 
Plasma Processes and Polymers  Communications in Nonlinear Science and Numerical Simulation 
Biomicrofluidics  Applied and Computational Harmonic Analysis 
Microfluidics and Nanofluidics  Letters in Mathematical Physics 
Communications in Nonlinear Science and Numerical Simulation  Communications in Applied Mathematics and Computational Science 
Nuclear Fusion  Physical Review E 
Plasma Sources Science & Technology  Chaos 
Physics of Plasmas  Journal of Computational Physics 
Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion  Communications in Mathematical Physics 
Physical Review E  Inverse Problems 
 Physics -- multidisciplinary  Nuclear 
Reviews of Modern Physics  Annual Review of Nuclear and Particle Science 
Physics Reports-Review Section Of Physics Letters  Journal of Physics G-Nuclear and Particle Physics 
Nature Physics  Physical Review C 
Reports on Progress In Physics  Energy Conversion and Management 
Physical Review Letters  Nuclear Fusion 
Physics Today  Nuclear Data Sheets 
Physical Review X  Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion
Physics Letters B  Progress in Particle and Nuclear Physics 
New Journal of Physics  European Physical Journal A 
Soft Matter  Physical Review Special Topics-Accelerators and Beams
Particles & Fields 
Living Reviews in Relativity 
Annual Review of Nuclear and Particle Science 
Journal of Cosmology and Astroparticle Physics 
Journal of High Energy Physics 
Journal of Physics G-Nuclear And Particle Physics
European Physical Journal C 
Astroparticle Physics 
Physical Review D 
Nuclear Physics B 
Classical and Quantum Gravity   

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706