Research Guides: Physics & Astronomy: References & Websites

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Physics by John Daintith (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199233991
Publication Date: 2010-04-01

Contains over 3,800 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. E-Book.
Encyclopedia of Physics by Rita G. Lerner (Editor); George L. Trigg (Editor)
Call Number: Dirac, QC5 .E545 2005 (In library use only)
ISBN: 9783527405541
Publication Date: 2005-10-28

In two volumes, covering the latest terminology and techniques in physics, including atomic trapping and cooling, biophotonics, econophysics, the formation of stars and planets, quantum communication, space science and technology, and traffic flow.
Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences by James R. Holton (Editor); Judith A. Curry (Editor); John Pyle (Editor)
Call Number: Dirac Reference QC854 .A48 2003
ISBN: 0122270908
Publication Date: 2002-12-23

Covers all aspects of atmospheric sciences-including both theory and applications, including atmospheric chemistry, biogeochemical cycles, boundary layers, clouds, general circulation, global change, mesoscale meteorology, ozone, radar, satellite remote sensing, and weather prediction.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by William M. Haynes (Editor)
Call Number: e-Book
ISBN: 1439880492
Publication Date: 2012-06-22

An authoritative resource consisting tables of data in the disciplines. This edition includes seventeen new tables in the Analytical Chemistry section, a major update of the CODATA Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constantsand updates to many other tables. The book puts physical formulas and mathematical tables used in labs every day within easy reach.
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics by Paul Murdin (Editor)
Call Number: Dirac Reference QB14 .E54 2001
ISBN: 0333750888
Publication Date: 2001-01-01

This work presents an extensive and comprehensive reference on astronomy and astrophysics. It has 800 contributors, over 2500 entries, is extensively cross-referenced and has extensive indexes.

2013 Nobel Prize in Physics

References available on the Web

History

Center for History of Physics (from AIP)
Einstein Archives Online
History of Physics and Astronomy (from PhysLink)
Physics Success Stories (from AIP)

Education Resources

comPADRE: Physics and Astronomy Education communities
Particle Adventure (from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
World of Physics Online Dictionary (from Wolfram Research)

Physical Constants and Reference Tables

Physics Laboratory Physical Reference Data (from NIST)
NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty (including CODATA Fundamental Constants, International System of Units, and Uncertainty of Measurement Results)
Exact Time (from US Naval Observatory)
Physics Astronomy Classification Scheme – PACS (from APS)
SLACSpeak – glossary and HEP acronyms (from National Accelerator Lab)
Physics page at science.gov

Professional Societies

American Institute of Physics (AIP)
American Physical Society (APS)
European Physical Society (EPS)
Institute of Physics (IoP)
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP)
International Association of Mathematical Physics (IAMP)
International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP)
American Association for Physicists in Medicine