Skip to main content

Library and Information Studies: Journals & Databases

The guide is intended to assist students in the Library and Information Sciences field with their research and professional pursuits.

Search Google Scholar

Open Access Journals

These free and publicly-available journals may be helpful to you in your classes and research:


Archives & Museum Studies:
American archivist (free except for the six most recent issues)
Museum
Preservation in print
 
 
Information Architecture & Technology:
 
Internet Research:
 
Metadata and Data Management:

 

 

Key Resources / LIS Databases

General & Multidisciplinary Databases

Library Literature and Information Full Text
This database was created by librarians for librarians. Indexing English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year since 1984, it is the definitive index in the library and information science field. It delivers full text articles cover to cover from over a hundred select publications since 1994. PDF page images of the full text articles bring researchers charts, graphs, photos, and other valuable graphical information. Providing enhanced access to your periodical collection, this database also steers users to valuable information on the Web with hotlinks to sites mentioned in articles.

Safari Books Online - Safari Books Online's on-demand digital libraries provide academic and library users potential access to technology, creative, and business books from leading publishers. All of the content on Safari Books Online is vetted, reliable and provided by the world's leading publishers and authors.

   NOTE: Make sure to click on "View All Titles" button to see titles that we currently have access.

OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition 

Provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full text from over 1300 periodicals from H.W. Wilson General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Readers' Guide Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts, and many other Wilson databases. Coverage is from 1994- present. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.

IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. Also called IEEE/IEE Electronic Library.

ACM Digital Library
Full-text access to all ACM journals, magazines, and Special Interest Group conference proceedings. A wide range of computer- and information-science topics are covered from 1947- present.

Books In Print
This database provides complete, publisher verified information on all U.S. books in print/out of print since 1979. With various search options its makes searching for the right book easy.

Computer & Information Systems Abstracts
Jointly published with Engineering Information, this database provides a comprehensive monthly update on the latest theoretical research and practical applications around the world from 1981- present.

ERIC (First Search)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Coverage from 1966- present.

InfoTrac One File
Search humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues, and general interest topics from 1980- present.

NetLibrary
NetLibrary is a collection of over 30,000 recently published electronic books consisting of a broad range of reference, scholarly, popular and professional books. Language may be limited to Spanish. netLibrary is a collection of over 30,000 recently published electronic books consisting of a broad range of reference, scholarly, popular and professional books.

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Provides information on prices, frequency of publication, addresses, publishers' phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web site addresses for over 270,000 journals, magazines, annuals, series, newspapers, and other periodicals published worldwide.

Web of Science - Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals.

Library & Information Studies Journals at FSU

The FSU libraries offer an extensive list of journals in library and information science/studies; the following link is to an alphabetical list of all 459 journals:  FSU Libraries List of Library and Information Science Journals

Not all journals can be found online in full text, but you can always request an article through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

Subscription Journals

These journals to which FSU subscribes may be helpful to you in your research:

General Information Science Resources:

Museum studies

Information Needs & Services


Library Reference Services


Youth Information Needs & Services, School Media


Information Architecture & Technology

Assistant Librarian

Leila Gibradze
Contact:
Goldstein Library, Shores Bld.

(850) 644-0461
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706