Skip to main content

Library and Information Studies: Citation Assistance

The guide is intended to assist students in the Library and Information Sciences field with their research and professional pursuits.

Citation Manuals

Although there are numerous citation style guides, the one primarily used in the library and information studies field is the American Psychological Association or APA. Below are various sites that can help you format and properly cite your papers in APA style.

APA Style Homepage

The Basics of APA Style Tutorial

Goldstein Library APA Documentation Assistance - Downloads .pdf file

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): APA Formatting and Style Guide

You can also refer to a copy of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 6th. ed., which can be found at any FSU library.

LC Call Number BF76.7.P83 2010

RefWorks & Zotero

RefWorks is a citation program that allows you to easily create a bibliography. It is also a useful tool as it allows you to save the sources you may wish to consult later in your research. It links to the FSU catalog and many of the databases FSU accesses.

Some RefWorks features include:

  • Import data directly from online databases such as MEDLINE, PsychINFO, ERIC, etc.
  • Organize references by category or project
  • Create correctly-formatted bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, etc.)
  • Save bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
  • Cite references inside Word documents and generate a correctly formatted bibliography as you write
  • Export collections of references that can be read and processed by other bibliographic software (such as EndNote)

To begin using RefWorks, you must set up an account. If you have an account, log-in to begin.

For more information, check out the FSU Citation Management page.

=====================================================================================================

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.

This program allows you to carry your sources from computer to computer for easy updating.

Some Zotero features include:

  • Automatically capture citations
  • Remotely back up and sync your library
  • Store PDFs, images, and web pages
  • Wide variety of import/export options
  • Cite from within Word and Open Office
  • Instantly search your PDFs and notes

To begin using Zotero, you must download it on your computer.

For more information, check out the FSU Citation Management page.

Goldstein Library Director

Leila Gibradze
Contact:
Goldstein Library, Shores Bld.

(850) 644-0461

Assistant Librarian

Leila Gibradze
Contact:
Goldstein Library, Shores Bld.

(850) 644-0461
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706