Skip to main content

Library and Information Studies: Children and Youth Literature Resources

The guide is intended to assist students in the Library and Information Sciences field with their research and professional pursuits.

Prime Speaks-the podcast of teen services

Loading

New Children's & YA Books

Loading

Children's Literature Resoucres

International Children's Digital Library

Is a digital library archiving over 3939 books in 54 languages. You can search for books based on age group, fiction or non-fiction, award winners, and much much more. It is entirely free access.

Children's Literature Comphrensive Database

Contains more than 75,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults, and an average of more than 1500 new reviews are added to the database monthly. Dates covered are mainly 1993 - present with some older records from 1965.

Cooperative Children's Book Center

CCBC is a unique and vital gathering place for books, ideas, and expertise in the field of children's and young adult literature. The CCBC is a noncirculating examination, study, and research library for Wisconsin school and public librarians, teachers, early childhood care providers, university students, and others interested in children's and young adult literature. The CCBC is part of the University of Wisconsin-Madison (UW) School of Education (SoE), and receives additional support from the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI).

DAWL: Database of Award Winning Children's Literature

"The purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. I expect the user to be a librarian or a teacher intervening for a child-reader, however anyone may make use of it to find the best in children's literature including parents, book store personnel, and children and young adults themselves." -DAWL

TeachingBooks.Net

TeachingBooks.net is a time-saving portal to thousands of online resources you can use to explore children's and young adult books and their authors.

 

Young Adult Literature Resources

The Literary Link

The Literary Link is a index of online resources on young adult literature. It also includes reading guides and reviews.

YALSA Book Awards & Booklists

This site provides information on YALSA literary awards and booklists, as well as nomination forms (when available) and links to current and previous award winners or lists of titles.

The Young Adult Librarian's Homepage

A site "designed to gather resources on and off the Web to help librarians serving teens." Includes a list of public libraries with web pages for teens; and links to related websites (graphic novels, journals, organizations, publishers, and more). Maintained by Tracey Firestone, the Young Adult Specialist at the Suffolk Cooperative Library System, New York.

Reading Rockets

"Reading Rockets is a national multimedia project offering information and resources on how young kids learn to read, why so many struggle, and how caring adults can help." Features articles on strategies to help children who struggle with reading and techniques for teaching reading, and suggested book lists (such as "Beyond Harry Potter" and "Young Detectives"). Also includes author interview videos and podcasts, blogs, research reports, and more. From public television station WETA.

Assistant Librarian

Leila Gibradze
Contact:
Goldstein Library, Shores Bld.

(850) 644-0461
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706