Skip to main content

Library and Information Studies

The guide is intended to assist students in the Library and Information Sciences field with their research and professional pursuits.

Key Resources and Databases

General & Multidisciplinary Databases

Library Literature and Information Full Text
This database was created by librarians for librarians. Indexing English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year since 1984, it is the definitive index in the library and information science field. It delivers full text articles cover to cover from over a hundred select publications since 1994. PDF page images of the full text articles bring researchers charts, graphs, photos, and other valuable graphical information. Providing enhanced access to your periodical collection, this database also steers users to valuable information on the Web with hotlinks to sites mentioned in articles.

 

Academic Search Complete
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,900 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,800 peer-reviewed journals.

 

Expanded Academic ASAP
Indexes articles in approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology.

 

IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. Also called IEEE/IEE Electronic Library.

 

ACM Digital Library
Full-text access to all ACM journals, magazines, and Special Interest Group conference proceedings. A wide range of computer- and information-science topics are covered from 1947- present.

 

Springer Link
An electronic journal service with over 410 full text electronic journals published by Springer. The journals are searchable and browsable by author, title, topic or individual issue. Coverage is 1996 - present. Varies by title.

 

ERIC (First Search)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Coverage from 1966- present.

 

InfoTrac One File
Search humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues, and general interest topics from 1980- present.

 

EBSCOhost
This platform hosts the e-books and e-journals in the eBook Collection (EBSCO) and all of our EBSCO databases. FSU's e-book collection can be searched in conjunction with any or all EBSCO databases.

 

Web of Science - Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals.

Search Google Scholar

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706