Skip to main content
About the Library
Located on Capitol Hill in Washington D.C., the Folger Shakespeare Library is a world-renowned research center dedicated to the life and works of the famous author. This comprehensive site provides a wealth of resources for students, researchers, teachers, and visitors. They strive to create greater appreciation and understanding of Shakespeare's writing by making their collections and resources available to students around the world.
More Folger Library Resources
Consult this page to find out about resources available for undergraduates, grad students, and faculty. You'll find information on their publications, including Shakespeare Quarterly, as well as exhibitions and even fellowships.
Using the Collection
This page provides information on how to best utilize the extensive collection of research materials available online through the Folger Shakespeare Library.
Digital Image Collection
The Folger's Digital Image Collection offers online access to over 29,000 images from the Folger Shakespeare Library collection. Find images of books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, art, and more. Users can view cataloging information when available, export thumbnails, and construct permanent URLs linking back to their favorite items or searches.
"Folgerpedia is the Folger Shakespeare Library's collaboratively-edited, search-based encyclopedia of all things "Folger." Content of the articles has been contributed by various departments within the institution, as well as Folger readers and other scholars."
Hamnet Online Catalog
This publicly-available catalog allows you to search for electronic materials in the Folger Shakespeare Library collections, much like searching any academic database.
Look here to find out how to contact the Folger Shakespeare Library about education, events, library services, and more.