Skip to main content

Citation Guide: Citation Management Programs

Offers citation assistance for APA, MLA, and Chicago style guide.

How Citation Management Programs Can Help You

Citing material is difficult. The rules constantly change, and professors may require different citation methods. This page introduces some of the most popular citation management programs available for FSU users. In addition, there are resources to help you find up-to-date citation information via the web or in the library.

Research Assistance

For assistance with citing references or citation management software, contact the liaison librarian for your subject area or the service desks in the

Scholars Commons

(850) 644-6061

Learning Commons

(850) 644-3084 or

Dirac Science Library

(850) 644-5534

Guides & Tutorials

undefined

undefined
 

EndNote Desktop

undefined

  • Discounted price available for FSU users 
    Go to http://my.fsu.edu > login using your FSU credential > Secure Apps > Microsoft Work At Home > More Software> EndNote X8

EndNote Basic

undefined

Comparison of Features of Citation Management Programs

Feature

Refworks

Zotero

Mendeley

EndNote Basic

EndNote Desktop

Software

Web-based. Most up-to-date versions of browsers recommended. Write-N-Cite feature is only compatible with MS Word.

Desktop application (no Firefox) or browser extension (Firefox). Web version provides limited functionality.

Web-based -- must install bookmark into browser toolbar for full functionality -- or mobile applications. 

Web-based.

Web browser or mobile applications. 

Cost/Storage

For subscribing institutions, the amount of storage is unlimited. No set limit on file size for import. 

Up to 300MB is FREE to all. Additional storage is available for purchase.

Up to 2GB is FREE to all. Additional storage is available for purchase.

Save up to 50,000 references & 2GB of attachments FREE for FSU community.

Unlimited storage. EndNote X8 pricing begins at $249.95. Educational discounts may be available.

Adding References

  • 1-click exporting available from FSU catalog, OneSearch, & many databases.
  • From databases accessed in RefWorks​ 
  • From a computer file (this can also be done via drag-and-drop)   
  • From the RefWorks bookmarklet feature 
  • Imported from other citation management programs
  • Manually key in data
  • 1-click exporting available within browser address bar if software is installed
  • Add by identifier (ISBN, DOI, etc.)
  • Import from other citation management programs
  • References must be added manually in web version
  • 1-click exporting available within browser toolbar after bookmark is installed
  • References can also be added manually
  • Drag-and-drop to upload from computer
  • Import from other citation management programs
  • 1-click exporting available from FSU catalog & 9 databases
  • References can also be added manually
  • 1-click exporting available from FSU catalog & 500+ databases
  • Upload files from your computer

Attaching Files

  • Upload from your computer (this can be done via drag-and-drop)
  • "Save to RefWorks" bookmarklet (if full-text is available)
  • Link resolver ("Find it at FSU") for previously entered citations or when searching for new references
  • File synching feature
  • Zotero's button in browser's bar (if software is has been installed)
  • Right-clicking on link when in Zotero for Firefox
  • Uploading from computer via drag-and-drop
  • Clicking the "New Item" icon in Zotero
  • Direct through Mendeley Web Importer (can be installed in Google Chrome as a plugin/bookmarklet)
  • Mendeley Suggest
  • Watch Folder
  • Drag-and-drop feature
  • Upload from computer
  • Content must be attached manually.
  • Use "Find Full Text" function to attach automatically (authenticate through FSU for subscription items)
  • Attach manually -- upload from computer

Attachable File Formats

Wide variety, including PDFs, Word documents, Excel files, Power Point files, etc. 

Wide variety, including multimedia files such as PDFs

Wide variety, including multimedia files such as PDFs

Wide variety, including multimedia files such as PDFs

Wide variety, including PDFs, figures, Word documents, and Excel files -- up to 45 files per reference

Organizing

References can be organized into folders and sub-folders, and tagged.

References can be organized into collections and sub-collections, and tagged.

References can be organized into folders and subfolders, and tagged.

References can be organized into groups.

References can be organized into groups, smart groups (based on search criteria), group sets, combined groups, and sorted/tagged by various criteria.

Citation Styles

4000+

13 with installation, 8000+ available for upload from Zotero Style Repository

14 with installation, with almost 7000 available for upload

21

6000+

Sharing

Entire database or folders can be shared via email with other RefWorks users or anyone affiliated with FSU. 

Groups with public or private access are available in both versions for unlimited sharing.

References can be shared through public or invite-only groups, on social networks, and in collaboration news feeds. 

References & groups can be shared via email.

Full library sharing with 100 users, private group sharing, and Shared Library Activity Feed.

Collaborating

Options available to allow users to comment on or add references to a folder, especially through the Google Docs Add-on. 

Collaborators can be invited to read or edit collections or files through groups. 

Private groups, public groups, social networks, and collaboration news feeds. 

When sharing, the group owner can choose to allow read only or read & write access.

Share libraries & attachments with up to 100 people to use & edit simultaneously.

Browser Compatibility

IE, Safari, Firefox, Chrome, Microsoft Edge (latest versions recommended) 

Firefox (in-browser or stand-alone) Safari, Chrome, or Opera (stand-alone only)

IE, Safari, Firefox, Chrome

IE, Safari, Firefox, Chrome

IE 8.x or later, Firefox 27 or later, Safari 5.0 or later, Chrome 31 or later

Language

English, Spanish, French, German, Korean, Traditional Chinese, Italian, Kanji, Simplified Chinese 

Import, store, and cite in any language. Experimental version allows metadata in multiple languages

English only

English, Simplified & Traditional Chinese, Japanese, Korean, German, Portuguese, Spanish

English only

Reading

Has a built-in reader with annotating features including highlighting, commenting, and adding notes. 

Not available, but one can tag and add notes to a citation. 

Mendeley's PDF reader has annotating features such as highlighting, commenting, and adding notes. 

Not available in EndNote Basic

Annotate, highlight PDFs.

Mobile options

Mobile site, but an app is still in the works.

Third-party apps (BrowZine, BibUp, Zandy, etc.) provide limited functionality. Mobile version of Zotero is accessible. 

Free apps available for iOS and Android.

Free iPad app available

Free iPad app & mobile site.

 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706