Skip to main content

Strozier Library Map Collections

A guide to locating Maps in Strozier Library, including bound atlases and sheet maps.

Sheet Maps

Strozier's Sheet Map Collection is divided into five different sections, each of which is described below. Check out the Cabinet Guide to see where each kind of map is kept.

1. Subject Maps
Strozier's Subject Map collection covers a wide variety of items. While it includes basic maps showing political boundaries and geographical features, it also contains maps dedicated to specific subjects, such as the locations of natural resources and where certain languages are spoken.

2. Historical Maps
Strozier's Historical Map collection is comprised of maps created before 1920. The collection includes original printed items as well duplications, and features materials such as world maps from the Age of Exploration up through Railroad Maps from the late nineteenth century.

3. Nautical/Hydrological Maps
Strozier's Hydrological and Nautical Map Collection includes historic and recent documents from the National Ocean and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), as well as other navigational charts which show sea depths and ocean currents. Many of NOAA's current charts are also available online.

4. Army Map Service (AMS) Maps
Strozier has a wide selection of maps created by the Department of Defense, including documents from the Army Map Service (AMS), the Defense Mapping Agency (DMA), and the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA). Some maps date back to World War II and provide topographical data on most of the United States, as well as parts of Europe and Asia. Many of these maps are available online from the University of Texas at Austin.

5. United States Geological Survey (USGS) Maps
Strozier Library regularly receives Topographical Maps from the United States Geological Survey (USGS) which cover all parts of the country. We have current maps of all 50 states, as well as historical maps for Florida, Georgia, and Alabama.These maps are also available online from the USGS.

Sheet Map Call Numbers

G3180-3182     Universe. Solar system
G3190-3191     Celestial maps
G3195-3197     Moon
G3200-3202     World. Earth
G3210-3221     Northern and Southern Hemispheres
G3240-3241     Tropics. Torrid Zone
G3250-3251     Temperate Zone
G3260-3272     Polar regions. Frigid Zone

G3290-9880     By region or country

G3290-5667         Western Hemisphere
G3300-5184            North America
G3380-3384               Greenland
G3400-(3612)            Canada
G3700-4384               United States
G4390-4392               Caribbean area
G4410-4763               Mexico
G4800-4874            Central America
G4900-5184            West Indies
G5200-5667            South America

G5670-8904         Eastern Hemisphere
G5700-7342            Europe
G7000-7342                Former U.S.S.R. Russia (Empire)
G7400-8198.54        Asia
G8200-8904            Africa
G8950-9084            Australasia
G9095-9794            Oceans (General)
G9800-9804            Antarctica
G9900-9980            Unlocalized maps

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706