Skip to main content
Finding Journals at FSU
To Locate a Specific Journal or Article:
From the library homepage
, choose the link to find Articles
here, you can use keywords to search for articles and journals, or you
can search by a specific subject area. Some databases have direct links
to the pdf or html versions of journal articles. In most databases, if
there's not a direct link to the article, click on the
Electronic journals will have links to the databases that provide
access to them. Print or microform volumes will be listed as "Journals
on the Shelf" and linked to the record in the Libraries' online catalog.
Use these databases to find articles on literary studies and, more specifically, African American Literature. If you are off-campus, make sure to login through the FSU website on the "Off Campus Access" link.
To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.
Academic Search Complete
Ebsco's most comprehensive database, holding more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Such content includes that held in Ebsco's Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life products, listed above.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals.
Includes approximately 1200 plays from the mid-1800s to the present by 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Essay & General Literature Index
(1985 - Present)
(Changed to H.W. Wilson January 2004)Indexes essays and articles that have been published in collections as books. It is a good source of literary criticism published in books rather than in periodical articles.
News, culture and history from 200+ publications of the ethnic, minority and native press in English and Spanish.
Contains records from more than 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other American and European sources covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics.
Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text (plus Retrospective)*
(1907 - 1984)
Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
(1776 - )
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 yea
Literature Resource Center
Includes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
(1926 - )
Multilingual index to books and journals in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from 1926-present
(1993 - )
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press.