Research Guides: History and Philosophy of Science: Anatomy & Medicine

General Reference

Subject areas of possible interest to those researching within the topic of Anatomy & Medicine might include Anatomy, Human Anatomy, Medicine - Dictionaries, or Gray, Henry 1825-1861.

Finding Aids

Finding Aids are tools which facilitate the discovery of detailed information about a specific collection of records within an archive, often consisting of document inventory as well as a description of the materials, their source, and their structure.

Florida State College for Women Department of Botany and Bacteriology Ledger Book
This collection documents equipment purchased for this department and lists purchases made by the Department from June 4, 1918-October 20, 1940. It also contains a letter (May 30, 1930) from Alban Stewart, Professor of Bacteriology, to Dr. Edward Conradi listing salaries and equipment needed for the next academic year.
Herbert Spencer Zim papers
This collection is comprised of materials related to the works of Herbert Spencer Zim. Books covered include Armored animals; Botany; Commercial fishing; Crabs; Golden hamsters; Hoists, cranes and derricks; Israel and the Holy Land; North American Indian arts; Sea stars and their kin; Telephone systems; 'What's inside of me'; 'What's inside of plants'; and 'Your heart and how it works'. Other persons or subjects significant to the collection include Rene Martin, Herschel Wartik, Alexander Drozynski, Andre Hunter Whiteford, and basketry.

Collections and Rare Items

Cookbooks and Herbals
Herbals have been used to describe the appearance of medicinal plants as well as instruct on how to gather, prepare, preserve and store them. These books contribute to the work of physicians, pharmacists and botanists by providing data about the indication and dosage of these plants. Herbals are a great way to gain an understanding of the history behind medicine and gives a glimpse into how people lived in the past.

The anatomie of the bodie of man by Thomas Vicary
Call Number: Special Collections Rare -- PR1119 .E5 no.53
Publication Date: London, : Pub. for the Early English Text Society by N. Trübner & Co., 1888-.
Visit FSU Special Collections & Archives to see the edition of 1548, as re-issued by the surgeons of St. Bartholomew's in 1577 including the life of Vicary, notes on surgeons in England, Bartholomew's hospital, and London, in Tudor times, and an appendix of documents.
Follow the link to browse a digitized copy.
The anatomy of plants : with an idea of a philosophical history of plants : and several other lectures, read before the Royal Society by Nehemiah Grew
Call Number: QK41 .G82 1682
Publication Date: [London] : Printed by W. Rawlins, for the author, 1682.
Visit FSU Special Collections & Archives to see either of our two copies of this collection of essays and lectures printed together in one volume by order of the Royal Society. Bound in leather with edges stained red.
Follow the link to browse a digitized copy.
The animal kingdom, arranged according to its organization, serving as a foundation for the natural history of animals, and an introduction to comparative anatomy. by M. Latreille
Call Number: QL45 .C83
Publication Date: London, G. Henderson, 1834-37.
With figures designed after nature: the Crustacea, Arachnides, & Insecta. Translated from the latest French ed. with additional notes and illustrated by nearly 500 additional plates.
Currents and counter-currents in medical science / Oliver Wendell Holmes ; with other addresses and essays by Oliver Wendell Holmes
Call Number: R117 .H75
Publication Date: Boston : Ticknor and Fields, 1861.
Covers currents and counter-currents in medical science including homœopathy and its kindred delusions, some more recent views on homœopathy, puerperal fever, as a private pestilence, and the position and prospects of the medical student.
Familiar lectures on botany, practical, elementary and physiological : with an appendix, containing descriptions of the plants of the United States and exotics, &c. for the use of seminaries and private students by Phelps, Lincoln Mrs. 1793-1884
Call Number: QK47 .P53 1837
Publication Date: New York : F.G. Huntington & Co., 1837
Handbook of popular medicine, embracing the anatomy and physiology of the human body by George H. Napheys
Call Number: RC81 .N255 1878
Publication Date: Philadelphia, H. C. Watts Co., 1878.
Contains over 300 choice dietetic and remedial recipes.
Published in 1876 under the title: The body and its ailments.
Medical lexicon. A dictionary of medical science; containing a concise explanation of the various subjects and terms of anatomy, physiology, pathology, hygiene, therapeutics ... with the accentuation and etymology of the terms, and the French and other sy by Robley Dunglison
Call Number: R121 .D9 1874
Publication Date: Philadelphia, H. C. Lea, 1874.
Musaeum Regalis Societatis, or A catalogue & description of the natural and artificial rarities belonging to the Royal Society and preserved at Gresham Colledge by Nehemjah Grew M.D. Fellow of the Royal Society and of the Colledge of Physitian
Call Number: Special Coll Rare (oversize) -- QH41 .G7 1681
Publication Date: London, : Printed by W. Rawlins, for the Author, 1681.
Visit FSU Special Collections & Archives to see the 1681 edition. Includes comparative anatomy of stomachs and guts by the and illustrated with a great number of cuts unusually engraved on copper plates.
Follow the link to browse a digitized copy.
A system of anatomy for the use of students of medicine by Caspar Wistar
Call Number: QM23 .W8 1823
Publication Date: Philadelphia : Carey & Lea, 1823.
Selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it through its contributions to the understanding of the anatomy of the human body.