Skip to main content
Finding Journals at FSU
To Locate a Specific Journal or Article:
From the library homepage
, choose the link to find Articles
here, you can use keywords to search for articles and journals, or you
can search by a specific subject area. Some databases have direct links
to the pdf or html versions of journal articles. In most databases, if
there's not a direct link to the article, click on the
Electronic journals will have links to the databases that provide
access to them. Print or microform volumes will be listed as "Journals
on the Shelf" and linked to the record in the Libraries' online catalog.
Use these databases to find scholarship on Early American literature and culture. Login through the main library website "Off Campus Access" link to use these resources off campus.
To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool.
JSTOR* A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years
Primary Source Databases
America's Historical Newspapers
Full-text, searchable access to Series I,II, and III of the Readex collection, Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922.
America: History and Life
Description: Bibliographic database covering the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
American Periodical Series
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals published between 1740 and 1900. Covers special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groun
Early American Imprints, Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Contains over 36,000 imprints and more than 2.5 million images.
Early American Newspapers, Series I
Includes Early American Newspapers (Series I,II, and III), 1690-1922 and offers fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of more than one million pages from more than 650 historical American newspapers, focusing on titles published in the 18th century.\r\n
Early English Books Online
Full Text Access to over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). Although published in England, includes materials in languages other than English.
Abstracts and indexes literature 1964 - date covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450 - present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
When complete, this collection will include approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials.
Journals Available at FSU
American Literary Scholarship
Call Number: Electronic Resource eJournal Serials Solutions
Also available in Print (1963-2007)
STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PS3.A47
American Literary Scholarship is published in annual volumes (since 1963) that cover current critical analysis of American literature. Bibliographic essays are arranged by writers and time periods, from pre-1800 to the presen
Early American Studies
Call Number: Electronic Resource eJournal
Also available in print; 2003-05 STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- E186.E117
Call Number: Electronic Resource eJournal
Also available in print: STROZIER LIBRARY Periodicals 2nd Floor -- 805E34