The Nuremberg Trials were a series of military tribunals held by the Allied forces of WWII which resulted in the prosecution of many prominent Nazi leaders. They were held in the city of Nuremberg, Bavaria between 1945 and 1949. The first and better known trial was the Trial of the Major War Criminals before the International Military Tribunal (IMT). A series of lesser-known trials to try war crimes committed by lesser war ciminals was conducted at the US Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT).
Avalon Project
Provided by Yale Law, this online collection has digital versions of most, though not all, of the official trial documents.
Nuremberg Trials Project (Provided by Harvard Law)
From Harvard Law, this website has very detailed documents related to select cases from the trials, though it is not as comprehensive as the Avalon Project.
(Trial against H. W. Göring, R. Hess, J. von Ribbentrop, R. Ley, W. Keitel, E. Kaltenbrunner, A. Rosenberg, H. Frank, W. Frick, J. Streicher, W. Funk, H. Schacht, G. Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach, K. Dönitz, E. Raeder, B. von Schirach, F. Sauckel, A. Jodl, M. Bormann, F. von Papen, A. Seyss-Inquart, A. Speer, C. von Neurath, and H. Fritzsche, individually and as members of any groups or organizations to which they belonged.)
42 volumes (V. 1 Official documents; V. 2-22 Proceedings; V. 23 Chronological and Subject Index; V. 24 Document & Name Index; V. 25-42 Documents and other Material in Evidence)
Vol. 1-42 are available at FSU in print
FSU LAW LIBRARY. General Collection -- KZ1176.T74 1947
FSU STROZIER, Documents Subbasement -- M105.2: C86
Vol. 1-22 are available electronically through the Avalon Law Project at Yale University
U.S. Dept. of State, Trial of War Criminals: Documents
Abbreviated version of a report provided by the U.S. Dept. of State on the Nuremberg Trials. The full text of the report may be found in the Department of State Bulletin of June 10, 1945, p. 1. This abbreviated version, as well as the full text, include the report of Robert H. Jackson to the President, Agreement Establishing an International Military Tribunal, & Indictment.
Nazi Conspiracy and Aggression
8 volume set created by the Office of United States Chief of Counsel for Prosecution of Axis Criminality. The Library of Congress provides online access to this set and explains: "also known as 'The Red Series,' [this] is a 'Collection of Documentary Evidence and Guide Materials Prepared by the American and British Prosecuting Staffs for Presentation before the International Military Tribunal at Nurnberg, Germany.' The Red Series makes available an indexed sampling of the evidence used to support the charges made against the major Nazi war criminals in their trial at Nuremberg, Germany, 1945-1946. Volumes I and II serve as an overarching guide for the Red Series. They contain essays that summarize and link together the documents that follow. Volume II also contains a glossary along with short biographies of the German defendants, as well as summaries of the individual cases against them."
The Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, 1945-46: A Documentary History
Authored by Michael Robert Marrus, this is a s Secondary-Source analysis which incorporates reproductions of significant sections of the trial record.
The Charter and Judgment of the Nürnberg Tribunal: History and Analysis
History and Analysis prepared by the Secretary General of the United Nations in 1949.
Ni͡urnbergskiĭ prot͡sess; sbornik materialov [Нюрнбергский процесс; сборник материалов]
Russian sourcebook on the Military Tribunal
The Nuremberg interviews: conducted by leon Goldensohn
Edited and introduced by Robert Gellately, this volume includes interviews with defendants from both the IMT and the NMT
Collection of personal narratives of Americans on the Nuremberg Trial of Major German War Criminals, Nuremberg, Germany, 1945-1946
Statements and Reports Provided by Robert Jackson, Chief American Prosecutor for the Nuremberg Trials
Case 1: United States v. Karl Brandt (Medical Case/Doctors' Trial)
Microfilm & Guide (Micr AE1.119: M887)
Case 2: United States v. Erhard Milch (Milch Case- Luftwaffe)
Microfilm & Guide
Case 3: United States v. Josef Altstoetter (Justice Case/Judges' Trial)
Microfilm & Guide
Case 4: United States v. Oswald Pohl (Pohl Case- SS)
Microfilm & Guide
Case 5: United States v. Friedrich Flick (Flick Case- Industrialist)
Microfilm & Guide
Case 6: United States v. Carl Krauch (I.G. Farben Case- Industrialist)
Microfilm & Guide
Case 7: United States v. Wilhelm List (Hostage Case)
Microfilm & Guide
Case 8: United States v. Ulrich Greifelt (RuSHA Case- SS)
Microfilm & Guide
Case 9: United States v. Otto Ohlendorf (Einsatzgruppen Case- SS)
Microfilm & Guide
Case 10: United States v. Alfried Krupp (Krupp Case- Industrialist)
Microfilm & Guide
Case 11: United States v. Ernst von Weizsaecker (Ministries Case)
Microfilm & Guide (Micr AE1.119: M897)
Case 12: United States v. Wilhelm von Leeb (High Command Case)
Microfilm & Guide (Micr AE1.119: M898)
Nuernberg Miscellaneous Series, 1874 - 1946
Microfilm & Guide
Nuernberg Propaganda Series
Microfilm & Guide
Guertner Diaries, Oct. 5, 1934 - Dec. 24, 1938
Microfilm & Guide
Nuernberg Trials Records: Register Cards to the NG Document Series, 1946-1949
Microfilm set which collects the evidence presented by the US at the NMT
© 2022 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706