Research Guides: Popular Culture: Find Articles

Finding Journals at FSU

To Locate a Specific Journal or Article:

From the library homepage, choose the tab to search articles. From here, you can use keywords to search for articles and journals, or you can search by a specific subject area. Some databases have direct links to the pdf or html versions of journal articles. In most databases, if there's not a direct link to the article, click on the

button.

Electronic journals will have links to the databases that provide access to them. Print or microform volumes will be listed as "Journals on the Shelf" and linked to the record in the Libraries' online catalog.

(Pop) Cultural Databases

These databases deal more specifically with pop culture/mass media (film, tv, music, literature, etc)

Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Online
Covers musical composers, performers, scholars and persons whose contributions are in some way connected to the world of music. Includes 3,000 links to related sites that contain sound archives and illustrations and full-text searching capabilities. Global coverage of articles includes all genres of music from ancient times to the present.
Film and Television Literature Index Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing.
Film Literature Index
LI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
International Index to Performing Arts
A performing arts journal resource with over half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to the present, covering theatre, dance and film.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases are more broadly based, but still contain resources relevant to popular culture. If you are off-campus, make sure to login through the FSU website on the "Off Campus Access" link.

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile includes extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Tutorials:
Video tutorials for Academic OneFile

Mobile:
Gale databases are available off campus through your smartphone.
Mobile Interface: applicable resources are optimally displayed for your mobile device

Abbreviation: aone
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1980-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Tutorials:
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665-present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text coverage of general news, business, legal, governmental and other topics. Also called Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe. Also called Academic Universe.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Abbreviation: galelit
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1400-Current
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Abbreviation: mla
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1921-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to 200+ scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture, society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine, theatre etc.
[*http://muse.uq.edu.au/journals Mirror server if link is not working.]

Abbreviation: muse
Vendor: The Johns Hopkins University Press
Coverage: 1993Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals. Provides multidisciplinary indexing of all fields of arts and humanities, including dance, film, radio and television, language, music and literature.
Tutorials:
Web of Science Tutorials

Abbreviation: wokah
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1975-Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Studio Art
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Google Scholar

Journals

Early Popular Visual Culture
Call Number: Electronic Resource eJournal--Click to Connect
Journal of Popular Culture
Call Number: E-Journal--Click to Connect
Studies in Popular Culture
Call Number: E-Journal; Click to Connect
Journal of Religion and Popular Culture
Call Number: E-journal; click to connect
Journal of American Studies
Call Number: E-Journal: click to connect
Studies in American Fiction
Call Number: E-journal: click to connect
Feminist Media Studies
Call Number: E-Journal; Click to Connect
Critical Studies in Media Communication
Call Number: E-journal: click to connect
Cinefantastique
Call Number: Full text available from Freely Accessible Arts & Humanities Journals: 09/01/1975 to present
E-Journal; click to connect