Skip to main content

The John MacKay Shaw Collection

The John MacKay Shaw Collection consists of books, works of art, manuscripts, catalogs and ephemera related to childhood. The collection includes bibliographies, biographies, literature, poetry, and criticism.

Biography

The books listed within this page document the Biography theme through autobiographies, biographies and complete literary works by each author listed.

Books

Thomas Bewick

-A memoir of Thomas Bewick written by himself

Edited and with an introduction by Montague Weekley. With wood engravings by Thomas Bewick.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw NE1212.B5A3 1961a 

Robert Burns

-Journal of a tour in the Highlands made in the year 1787

by Robert Burns. Reproduced in facsimile from his original manuscript in the possession of William K. Bixby, with introduction and transcript by J. C. Ewing.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4331.A3E8  

-The national Burns, including the airs of all the songs in the staff and tonic sol-fa notations

edited, with an original life of Burns, by George Gilfilan.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4324.G5 1879 volume 1 and 2

-Poems of Robert Burns

Selected by Lloyd Frankenberg. Drawings by Joseph Low.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4303.F7

Lewis Carroll

-The diaries of Lewis Carroll [pseud.]

Now first edited and supplemented by Roger Lancelyn Green.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4612.A2G7 volume 1 and 2

Emily Dickinson

-The poems of Emily Dickinson

by Emily Dickinson

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS1541.A1 1937

  

Paul Laurence Dunbar

-The life and works of Paul Laurence Dunbar; containing his complete poetical works, his best short stories, numerous anecdotes and a complete biography of the famous poet

By Lida Keck Wiggins, and an introduction by William Dean Howells. Profusely illustrated with over half a hundred full page photo and half-tone engravings.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS1557.W5 1907

Eleanor Farjeon

-Portrait of a family...

by Eleanor Farjeon; with many illustrations

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6011.A67P65 1936

  

Kate Greenaway

-The Kate Greenaway treasury; an anthology of the illustrations and writings of Kate Greenaway

Edited and selected by Edward Ernest, assisted by Patricia Tracy Lowe. Introduction by Ruth Hill Viguers.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw ND1942.G8E7 1967

  

Felicia Dorothea Browne Hemans

-The poetical works of Mrs. Felicia Hemans; complete in one volume

by Felicia Dorothea Browne Hemans

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4780.A1 1859

  

Thomas Hood "The Elder"

-Memorials of Thomas Hood

Collected, arranged, and edited by his daughter. With a preface and notes by his son. Illustrated with copies from his own sketches.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4798.A53 1860

  

Mary Howitt

-Mary Howitt; an autobiography

by Mary Howitt

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4809.H2A8 1889 volumes 1 and 2

Andrew Lang

-The life and letters of John Gibson Lockhart

by Andrew Lang; from Abbotsford and Milton Lockhart mss. and other original sources. With fifteen illustrations...

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4891.L4L3 1897 volumes 1 and 2

-Poets' country: the homes and haunts of the poets

edited by Andrew Lang; twenty-four illustrations in colour by F. S. Walker

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR109L3 1913

Edward Lear

-Journal of a landscape painter in Corsica

by Edward Lear

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw DC611.C812L4 1870

  

Alfred Noyes

-Two worlds for memory

by Alfred Noyes

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6027.O8Z5

James Whitcomb Riley

-James Whitcomb Riley's complete works: including poems and prose sketches

by James Whitcomb Riley; many of which have not heretofore been published; an authentic biography, an elaborate index and numerous illustrations in color from paintings by Howard Chandler Christy and Ethel Franklin Betts.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS2700.F16 1916 volumes 1 - 10

-Riley child-rhymes

[by ]James WhitcombRiley; with Hoosier pictures by Will Vawter

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS2704.C4 1905 copy 1 and 2

Books continued

Robert Louis Stevenson

-A child's garden of verses: The complete edition: with a biographical sketch of the author, and an index of first lines

by Robert Louis Stevenson; illustrated by Eulalie

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5489.C5 1961

William Makepeace Thackeray

-The works of William Makepeace Thackeray: in thirteen volumes

with biographical introductions by his daughter, Anne Ritchie; <illustrations by the author, George Cruikshank, and John Leech>.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5601.R4 1902

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706