Skip to main content

The John MacKay Shaw Collection

The John MacKay Shaw Collection consists of books, works of art, manuscripts, catalogs and ephemera related to childhood. The collection includes bibliographies, biographies, literature, poetry, and criticism.

Bibliography

All of the books and other Finding Aid materials on this page concern the theme of Bibliography in the Shaw Collection. These examples include illustrations, introductions, prefaces, and other notes by contributors and editors to each authors' works.

Bibliography Materials

-Bibliography: American Poetry

1979 - 1980

Container: Box 93, Folder 1

Extent: 2 items

-Bibliography: Anthologies

not dated

Container: Box 93, Folder 2

Extent: 2 items

-Bibliography: Bartholomew Fair, Ltd.

1984

Container: Box 90, Folder 1

-Bibliography: Christie's Auction Catalog

1975

Container: Box 90, Folder 2

Extent: 1 item

-Bibliography: David Cory

1966

Container: Box 90, Folder 3

Extent: 1 item

-Bibliography: Indiana State University

1976 - 1982, not dated

Container: Box 90, Folder 4

Extent: 9 items

-Bibliography: Kelly, Gordon

1973

Container: Box 90, Folder 4A

Extent: 1 item

-Bibliography: Limited Editions Club Publications

1929 - 1959

Container: Box 90, Folder 4B

Extent: 3 items

Note: The Limited Editions Club Publications, with a list of titels from the library of Mark P. Haines, book collector, Class of 1911, Depauw University, No. 87 of a limited edition published in 1959. No. 4284 with A Complete Catalogue; Twenty-Five Years of Limited Editions Club Books, 1953, No. 115; Twenty-Seven Years of Limited Editions Club Books, 1929 - 1957, No. 125.

-Bibliography: W.B. Lukenbill

1972

Container: Box 90, Folder 5

Extent: 1 item

-Bibliography: David Melton

1976

Container: Box 90, Folder 6

-Bibliography: Southern Illinois University at Carbondale

1980

Container: Box 90, Folder 7

Extent: 1 item

-Bibliography: James Thin Catalog

not dated

Container: Box 90, Folder 8

Extent: 1 item

-Bibliography: TLS

1983

Container: Box 90, Folder 9

Extent: 18 items

-Bibliography: Victorian Periodicals Newsletter

September 1971

Container: Box 90, Folder 9A

Extent: 1 item

-Bibliography: New Books from Virginia

1985

Container: Box 90, Folder 10

Extent: 1 item

Books

Thomas Bewick

-Bewick to Dovaston: letters 1824-1828

edited by Gordon Williams, introduced by Montague Weekley

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw NE1212.B5A38

William Blake

-The chimney sweeper

by William Blake [illustrated by Paul P. Piech.]

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4144.C5 1969  

-Songs of innocence

The author and printer William Blake

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4144.S6 1802

Lewis Carroll

-Alice in wonderland: Through the looking glass, etc.

by Lewis Carroll [pseud.]

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PZ8.D666Al 1952  

-The annotated Alice: Alice's adventures in Wonderland & Through the looking glass

by Lewis Carroll [pseud.] Illustrated by John Tenniel. With an introduction and notes by Martin Gardner.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 1960a

-The annotated Alice: Alice's adventures in wonderland & Through the looking glass

by Lewis Carroll; illustrated by John Tenniel; with an introduction and notes by Martin Gardner.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 1960b  

-The annotated Alice: Alice's adventures in Wonderland & Through the looking-glass

by Lewis Carroll; original illustrations by John Tenniel; introduction and notes by Martin Gardner.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 2000  

-The annotated Alice: Alice's adventures in wonderland & Through the looking glass

by Lewis Carroll; illustrated by John Tenniel; with an introduction and notes by Martin Gardner.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 1960ba

  

Sir William Shwenck Gilbert

-Gilbert before Sullivan; six comic plays

by William Shwenck Gilbert. Edited and with an introduction by Jane W. Stedman.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw ML49.G47 1967

  

Thomas Gray

-The poetical works of Thomas Gray

by Thomas Gray. "Illustrations drawn by Birket Foster, and engraved by W. Palmer and E.M. Wimperis."

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR3500.A2 1867

Kate Greenaway

-The Kate Greenaway treasury; an anthology of the illustrations and writings of Kate Greenaway

Edited and selected by Edward Ernest, assisted by Patricia Tracy Lowe. Introduction by Ruth Hill Viguers.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw ND1942.G8E7 1967

  

Alfred Edward Housman

-A Shropshire lad

by A. E. Housman, with notes and a bibliography by Carl J. Weber

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Rare) PR4809.H15A7 1946

John Keats

-The odes of Keats, with notes and analyses and a memoir

by Arthur C. Downer

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4832.D68 1897

  

Rudyard Kipling

-The second jungle book

by Rudyard Kipling; with illustrations by J. Lockwood Kipling

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4854.J6 1894b, Special Collections, Shaw (Rare) PR4854.S42 1895c

Edward Lear

-Lear in Sicily: twenty line drawings by Edward Lear illustrating a tour made in May--July 1847 in the company of John Joshua Proby

With a colored frontispiece signed by both the travellers; and a full introduction by Granville Proby.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw NC242.L4A4 1938  

-A Lear song, The broom, the shovel, the poker, and the tongs

foreword by Philip Hofer

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4879.L2B76 1977

 

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

-Tales of a wayside inn

by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow; with illustrations from photographs by Charles S. Olcott

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS2269.A1 1913

Sir Walter Scott

-The lord of the isles

By Sir Walter Scott, bart. With all his introductions, and the editor's notes. Illustrated by numerous engravings on wood from drawings by Birket Foster and John Gilbert.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5310.A1 1857 copy 1 - 3

Books continued

William Makepeace Thackeray

-The works of William Makepeace Thackeray: in thirteen volumes

With biographical introductions by his daughter, Annie Ritchie; <illustrations by the author, George Cruikshank, and John Leech>.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5601.R4 1902

Isaac Watts

-Divine songs attempted in easy language for the use of children

Facsimile reproductions of the first edition of 1715 and an illustrated edition of circa 1840, with an introduction and bibliography by J. H. P. Pafford

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR3763.W2A65 1971 Copy 1 - 3

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706