Skip to main content

The John MacKay Shaw Collection

The John MacKay Shaw Collection consists of books, works of art, manuscripts, catalogs and ephemera related to childhood. The collection includes bibliographies, biographies, literature, poetry, and criticism.

Children

These are examples of books, poems, songs and other works written for children and for childhood with illustrations, photos, prints, and music. They represent some of the most famous children's stories, poems, songs and ryhmes of the 18th through the 20th Century in the Shaw Collection.

Children Materials

-Children: Mary Harbage

1978 - 1979, not dated

Container: Box 90, Folder 11

Extent: 6 items

-Children: Imprint

1985

Container: Box 90, Folder 12

Extent: 1 item

-Children: Journals and Articles

1959 - 1967, not dated

Container: Box 90, Folder 13

Extent: 6 items

-Children: Astrid Lindgren

1983

Container: Box 90, Folder 14

Extent: 1 item

-Children: Martha's Kidlit Newsletter

July 2002 - August 2002

Container: Box 90, Folder 14A

Extent: 2 items

-Children: Alan Nadel

not dated

Container: Box 90, Folder 15

Extent: 1 item

-Children: Portrait Studies Symposium

1979 - 1980

Container: Box 90, Folder 16

Extent: 12 items

-Children: Ann Terry

1974

Container: Box 90, Folder 16A

Extent: 12 items

-Children: Herbert S. Zim

1977, not dated

Container: Box 90, Folder 17

Extent: 5 items

Books

Hilaire Belloc

-Cautionary tales for children, designed for the admonition of children between the ages of eight and fourteen years

Verses by H. Belloc, pictures by B. T. B.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6003.E45C3 1918

-Hilaire Belloc's Cautionary verses

Illustrated album edition with the original pictures by B.T.B. and Nicolas Bentley.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6003.E45A17 1945

-A moral alphabet

by Hilaire Belloc; With illustrations by B.B.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6003.E45M66 1899 copies 1 and 2

-More beasts for worse children

Pictures by B.T.B.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6003.E45M67 1966

-More beasts (for worse children)

Verses by Hilaire Belloc; Pictures by B.T.B.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6003.E45M67 1910

William Blake

-Songs of innocence

by William Blake; with illustrations by Geraldine Morris

Call number: Special Collectioins, Shaw (Small) PR4144.S6 1902

 Robert Browning

-The Pied Piper of Hamelin

poems by Robert Browning; pictures by Lieselotte Schwarz

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4222.P5 1970

-The pied piper of Hamelin

by Robert Browning; with 35 illustrations by Kate Greenaway; engraved and printed in colours by Edmund Evans

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw NC1115.G73

-The pied piper of Hamelin 

by Robert Browning, illustrated in color photography. Dolls designed and made by Amalia Serkin

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4222.P5 1945

-The Pied Piper of Hamelin

by Robert Browning; illustrated by Van Dyck

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Oversize) PR4222.P5 1900z

-The Pied Piper of Hamelin

by Robert Browning; illustrated by Arthur C. Payne and Harry Payne

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4222.P5 1895

William Cullen Bryant

-The little people of the snow

by William Cullen Bryant; illustrated from designs by Alfred Fredericks, engraved by A. Bobbett

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS1161.A1 1873

  

Robert Burns

-Hand in hand we'll go; ten poems

by Robert Burns; Illustrated by Nonny Hogrogian

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4302.W4 1965

 Lewis Carroll

-Alice's adventures in Wonderland

by Lewis Carroll, [pseud.]; illustrations by Willy Pogany

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 1929a  

-Alice's adventures in Wonderland

by Lewis Carroll; with forty-two illustrations by John Tenniel

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 1867  

-Alice's adventures in Wonderland

by Lewis Carroll; with an introduction by E.S. Martin, illustrated by Peter Newell

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 1901 copy 1 and 2

-Alice's adventures in Wonderland

by Lewis Carroll; with forty-two illustrations by John Tenniel

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 1869

-Alice's adventures in Wonderland

by Lewis Carroll; with the John Tenniel illustrations

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 1965a

 

Walter de la Mare

-Bells & grass: a book of rhymes

by Walter de la Mare, with illustrations by F. Rowland Emett

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Rare) PR6007.E31B4 1941

-Peacock pie : a book of rhymes

by Walter De La Mare

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6007.E3P4 1910z

-Peacock pie; a book of rhymes

by Walter de la Mare

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6007.E3P4 1941  

-Rhymes and verses: collected poems for children

by Walter De La Mare, with drawings by Elinore Blaisdell

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Rare) PR6007.E3A17 1947

-This year: next year

by Walter de la Mare and Harold Jones

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6007.E3T46 1937b

  

Eleanor Farjeon

-Around the seasons: poems

by Eleanor Farjeon; illustrated by Jane Paton

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6011.A67A76 1969

-Grannie Gray: children's plays and games

by Eleanor Farjeon; illustrated by Peggy Fortnum

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PN6120.A5F37 1956

-Portrait of a family...

by Eleanor Farjeon; with many illustrations

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6011.A67P65 1936

-A prayer for little things

[by] Eleanor Farjeon. Pictures by Elizabeth Orton Jones.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PZ8.3.F228Pr

-Sing for your supper

by Eleanor Farjeon; illustrations by Isobel & John Morton Sale

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6011.A67S56 1938

 Eugene Field

-Love songs of childhood

by Eugene Field

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS1667.L83 1905 copy 1 and 2

-Lullaby-land. Songs of childhood.

By Eugene Field. Selected by Kenneth Grahame and illustrated by Charles Robinson.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS1667.L85 1897 copy 1 and 2

-Lullaby-land: songs of childhood

by Eugene Field; selected by Kenneth Grahame and illustrated by Charles Robinson

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS1667.L8 1898 

-Poems of childhood

by Eugene Field; with illustations by Maxfield Parrish

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS1667.P6 1904 copy 1 and 2

-Poems of childhood

by Eugene Field; with illustrations in color by Maxfield Parrish

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS1667.P6 1974

 Theodor Seuss Geisel "Dr. Seuss"

-Horton hears a Who!

By Dr. Seuss

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS3513.E2H64 1954

-Bartholomew and the oobleck

written and illustrated by Dr. Seuss

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Oversize) PS3513.E2B3 1949

 

Books (continued)

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

-The hanging of the crane

by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Rare) PS2264.A1

George Macdonald

-At the back of the north wind

by George Macdonald; illustrated by D. Bedford

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4967.A8 1930

-At the back of the North Wind

by George Macdonald; illustrated by Jessie Willcox Smith

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw Pz7.M1475A6

-The lost princess; a double story

With 4 color plates and line drawings in the text, by D. J. Watkins-Pitchford

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4967L67 1965

-The princess and Curdie

by George Macdonald; with eight illustrations in tints by James Allen

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4967.P75 1888

-The princess and the goblin

by George Macdonald; illustrated by F.D. Bedford

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4967.P77 1930

Phyllis Mcginley

-All around the town

by Phyllis McGinley; illustrated by Helen Stone

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS3525.A23293A55 1948

-The B Book

[by] Phyllis McGinley; illustrated by Robert Jones

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS3525.A23293B35 1962

-Wonderful time

by Phyllis McGinley; illustrated by John Alcorn

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS3525.A23293W6 1966

A.A. Milne

-Now we are six

by A. A. Milne; with decorations by Ernest H. Shepard

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6025.I65N62 1935

-Now we are six

by A. A. Milne; with decorations by Ernest H. Shepard

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6025.I65N62 1927 Copy 1 and 2

-When we were very young

by A. A. Milne

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6025.I65W5 Copy 1 and 2

-When we were very young

by A. A. Milne; with decorations by Ernest H. Shepard

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6025.I65W5 1925

 

Laura Elizabeth Richards

-Tirra lirra: rhymes old and new

by Laura E. Richards; foreword by May Lamberton Becker; with illustrations by Marguerite Davis

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS2698.R8T57 1932  

-What shall the children read?

By Laura E. Richards; illustrated by C.B. Falls.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw Z1037.A1R5 1939

  

James Whitcomb Riley

-All the year round

 by James Whitcomb Riley; with twelve illustrations cut on wood and printed in colors, by Gustave Baumann

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS2704.A5 1912

-The book of joyous children

by James Whitcomb Riley; illustrated by J.W. Vawter

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS2704.B5 1902 Copy 1 and 2

-The boy lives on our farm

by James Whitcomb Riley; illustrated by Ethel Franklin Betts

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS2704.B69 1908  

-Down around the river, and other poems

by James Whitcomb Riley; with pictures by Will Vawter

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS2704.D6 1911 Copy 1 - 3

-A host of children

by James Whitcomb Riley; with illustrations in color by Ethel Franklin Betts

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS2702.B6 1920

Christina Rossetti

-Doves and pomegranates: poems for young readers

chosen by David Powell; introduced by Naomi Lewis; illustrated by Margery Gill

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5237.D68 1969 

-Sing-song : a nursery rhyme book

by Christina G. Rossetti; with one hundred and twenty illustrations by Arthur Hughes, engraved by the brothers Dalziel

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5237.S56 1893  

-Sing-song, a nursery rhyme book

by Christina Rossetti

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5237.S5 1924 

-Sing-song: a nursery rhyme book for children

by Christina G. Rossetti; illustrated by Marguerite Davis

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5237.S5 1952

Books (continued)

Kenneth Grahame

-The Cambridge book of poetry for children

Edited by Kenneth Grahame. With an unpublished poem by the editor and illustrations by Gwen Raverat.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PN6110.C4G68 1933 Copy 1 and 2

-Dream days

By Kenneth Grahame; illustrated by Maxfield Parrish.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4726.D7 1900

-First whisper of "The wind in the willows"

by Kenneth Grahame, edited, with an introduction, by Elspeth Grahame

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4726.W515 1945

Robert Graves

-The poor boy who followed his star, and [3] children's poems

by Robert Graves; illustrated by Alice Meyer-Wallace

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6013.R35P667 1968

-Ann at Highwood Hall: poems for children

by Robert Graves; illustrated by Edward Ardizzone

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6013.R35A5 1966

-The penny fiddle: poems for children

by Robert Graves, illustrated by Edward Ardizzone

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6013.R35P46 1960

Kate Greenaway

-A day in a child's life

illustrated by Kate Greenaway ; music by Myles B. Foster ; engraved and printed by Edmund Evans

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw M1990.G74D39 1881 copy 1 and 2

-Kate Greenaway's birthday book for children: with 382 illustrations

drawn by Kate Greenaway; verses by Mrs. Sale Barker

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Small) NC978.5.G7A4 1880b copy 1 and 2

-Kate Greenaway's painting book: with outlines from her various works for boys & girls to paint

by Kate Greenaway

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw NC978.5.G7A43 1890

-The Kate Greenaway treasury; an anthology of the illustrations and writings of Kate Greenaway

Edited and selected by Edward Ernest, assisted by Patricia Tracy Lowe. Introduction by Ruth Hill Viguers.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw ND1942.G8E7 1967  

-Marigold garden: pictures and rhymes

 by Kate Greenaway; printed in colours by Edmund Evans

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw NC978.5.G7A4 1900z

 

Sir Alan Patrick Herbert

-"Tinker, tailor"; a child's guide to the professions

By Alan Patrick Herbert. Illustrated by George Morrow.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6015.E58T5 1923  

-The wherefore and the why; some new rhymes for old children

by Alan Patrick Herbert, illustrated by George Morrow

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR6015.E58W5 1921

  

Charles Kingsley

-The water-babies: a fairy tale for a land baby

by Charles Kingsley; illustrated by Margaret W. Tarrant

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4842.W3 1927  

-The water-babies; a fairy tale for a land-baby

by Charles Kingsley; illustrated by Rosalie K. Fry

Call number: Special Collections, PR4842.W3 1957a  

-The water-babies: a fairy tale for a land-baby

by the Rev. Charles Kingsley; with two illustrations by J. Noel Paton, R.S.A

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4842.W37 1863  

-The water-babies: a fairy tale for a land-baby

by Charles Kingsley

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4842.W3 1891

  

Rudyard Kipling

-Just so stories: for little children

by Rudyard Kipling; with illustrations by the author; and coloured plates by Joseph M. Gleeson

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4854.J9 1913  

-Just so stories for little children

by Rudyard Kipling; illustrated by the author

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4854.J87 1902 copy 1 and 2

-Puck of Pook's Hill

by Rudyard Kipling; illustrated by Arthur Rackham

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4854.P8 1906 copy 1 and 2, Special Collections, Shaw (Rare) PR4854.P8 1906 

 

Charles Lamb

-The king and queen of hearts: an 1805 book for children

Written by Charles Lamb; illustrated by William Mulready; now re-issued in facsimile, with an introduction by E.V. Lucas.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Small) PR4862.K5 1805

-The king and queen of hearts: with the rogueries of the knave who stole the queen's pies

by Charles Lamb; illustrated in fifteen elegant engravings

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Small) PR4862.K5 1809

-Poetry for children

by Charles and Mary Lamb

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Small) PR4860.A25 1892 Volumes 1 and 2

-The works of Charles Lamb

edited by William Macdonald...

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Rare) PR 4860.A2 1903  Volumes 1 - 12, Special Collections, Shaw PR4860.A2 1903 Volumes 4 and 5, Special Collections, Shaw PR4860.A2 1903 Volume 8 copy 1 and 2

Andrew Lang

-The blue poetry book

by Andrew Lang; with numerous illustrations by H. J. Ford and Lancelot Speed

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR1175.L35 1967  

-The blue poetry book

edited by Andrew Lang; with numerous illustrations by H.J. Ford and Lancelot Speed

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR1175.L35 1891b Copy 1 and 2

-The brown fairy book

edited by Andrew Lang; with eight coloured plates and numerous illustrations by H.J. Ford

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4876B76 1904 

-The green fairy book

 edited by Andrew Lang; with numerous illustrations by H.J. Ford

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4876.G74 1892  

-The nursery rhyme book

edited by Andrew Lang; illustrated by L. Leslie Brooke

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PN6110.C4L26 1897

 

Edward Lear

-A book of nonsense

By Edward Lear

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4879.L2N4 1872z  

-The dong with a luminous nose

by Edward Lear; drawings by Edward Gorey

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4879.L2D66 1969

-Edward Lear's miniature books: containing 5 well-known rhymes

<with illustrations by the author <and> L. Leslie Brooke>

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Small) PR4879.L2A6 1935

-The jumblies

by Edward Lear; drawings by Edward Gorey

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4879.L2J8 1968 Copy 1 and 2

-Nonsense drolleries: The owl and the pussy-cat; The duck and the kangaroo

by Edward Lear; with original illustrations by William Foster

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4879.L2O92 1889 

Books (continued)

Maurice Sendak

-In the night kitchen

by Maurice Sendak

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS3569.E616 1970

 

John MacKay Shaw

-Zumpin; more poems for two children

by John MacKay Shaw

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PS3569.H381Z458 1969 Copy 1 and 2, Special Collections, Shaw (Rare) PZ8.3.S533Zu

Robert Louis Stevenson

-A child's garden of verses

by Robert Louis Stevenson; introduction by William Rose Benet; illustrations by Roger Duvoisin

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5489.C5 1944 Copy 1 and 2

-A child's garden of verses

[by] Robert Louis Stevenson; with illustrations by Jessie Willcox Smith

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5489.C5 1905 Copy 1 and 2

-A child's garden of verses

by Robert Louis Stevenson; illustrated by Charles Robinson

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5489.C5 1895 Copy 1 - 3

-A child's garden of verses

by Robert Louis Stevenson; illustrated by Charles Robinson

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5489.C5 1896

-A child's garden of verses

By Robert Louis Stevenson; illustrations by Paula Rees Good.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5489.C5 1931 Copy 1 and 2

William Makepeace Thackeray

-Simple melodies: with illustrations

by William Makepeace Thackeray

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5617.S56 1832 Copy 1 and 2

-The Thackeray alphabet

written & illustrated by William Makepeace Thackeray

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw (Rare) PR5607.A6 1929

Isaac Watts

-Divine and moral songs

by Isaac Watts; with illustrations by Robert Barnes... [et al.]

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR3763.W2A65 1885

-Divine and moral songs for children

by Isaac Watts

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR3763.W2A65 1866 Copy 1 and 2

-Divine songs attempted in easy language for the use of children

By Isaac Watts, facsimile reproductions of the first edition of 1715 and an illustrated edition of circa 1840, with an introduction and bibliography by J. H. P. Pafford.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR3763.W2A65 1971 Copy 1 - 3

-Dr. Watt's Divine songs for children

by Isaac Watts

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR3763.W2A64 1835

-Watts' songs against evil

by Isaac Watts

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR3763.W2S6 1850z

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706