Skip to main content

The John MacKay Shaw Collection

The John MacKay Shaw Collection consists of books, works of art, manuscripts, catalogs and ephemera related to childhood. The collection includes bibliographies, biographies, literature, poetry, and criticism.

Collecting

The books and other materialson this page represent the theme of Collecting in the Shaw Collection, with manuscripts, catalogs, correspondence, and other ephemera relating to the topic of collecting materials.

Collecting Materials

-Collecting: AIGA Children's Books, Exhibit Catalog

1967 - 1968

Container: Box 90, Folder 17A

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: American Library Association

1968 - 1974

Container: Box 93, Folder 3

Extent: 9 items

-Collecting: Warner Barnes

1979

Container: Box 90, Folder 18

Extent: 2 items

-Collecting: Bodleian Library

1982

Container: Box 90, Folder 19

Extent: 4 items

-Collecting: British Museum Society

1970, not dated

Container: Box 93, Folder 4

Extent: 2 items

-Collecting: Childhood in Poetry

1963 -1966, not dated

Container: Box 90, Folder 20

Note: 1 of 3

-Collecting: Childhood in Poetry

1966 - 1983

Container: Box 90, Folder 21

Extent: 5 items

Note: 2 of 3

-Collecting: Childhood in Poetry

1969

Container: Box 90, Folder 22

Extent: 3 items

Note: 3 of 3

-Collecting: Children's Literature Research Collection

1974 - 1979, not dated

Container: Box 93, Folder 5

Extent: 13 items

-Collecting: Christmas Exhibit. "Gifts to Libraries-1979" (U. of California, Berkeley)

1979

Container: Box 90, Folder 22A

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: Council for Florida Libraries

1981 -1983

Container: Box 90, Folder 23

Extent: 8 items

-Collecting: Depauw University

1956

Container: Box 90, Folder 24

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: Detroiters Collect

1968 -1969

Container: Box 91, Folder 1

Extent: 2 items

-Collecting: Essex Institute

1975

Container: Box 91, Folder 2

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: Folger Library

1978

Container: Box 91, Folder 3

Extent: 3 items

-Collecting: David Foxon and Louis B. Wright

1965

Container: Box 91, Folder 4

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: FSU Friends of the Library

1963, not dated

Container: Box 91, Folder 5

Extent: 7 items

-Collecting: FSU Library

1971, not dated

Container: Box 91, Folder 6

Extent: 7 items

-Collecting: George Harper

1975 -1978, not dated

Container: Box 91, Folder 7

Extent: 5 items

-Collecting: Journal of the Rutgers University Library

December 1965

Container: Box 91, Folder 7A

Extent: 5 items

-Collecting: Kemble Collection

1921 -1978, not dated

Container: Box 91, Folder 8

Extent: 8 items

-Collecting: Frederick Korn

1983

Container: Box 91, Folder 9

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: Jonathan Kwitny

1975

Container: Box 91, Folder 10

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: Library of Congress

not dated

Container: Box 91, Folder 11

Extent: 2 items

-Collecting: May Massee

1972

Container: Box 91, Folder 12

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: Mitchell Library

1982

Container: Box 91, Folder13

Extent: 8 items

-Collecting: Mother Goose

February 1967

Container: Box 91, Folder 13A

Extent: 1 item

Note: Includes Beatrice Potter

-Collecting: Overseas Branch Libraries

1983, not dated

Container: Box 91, Folder 14

Extent: 2 items

-Collecting: Peal Collection

1982

Container: Box 91, Folder 15

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: Poetry Book Society

1970

Container: Box 91, Folder 16

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: Poetry for Children

1975

Container: Box 91, Folder 17

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: Preservation

1977 -1978, not dated

Container: Box 91, Folder 18

Extent: 4 items

-Collecting: Price Library

1981 - 1983

Container: Box 91, Folder 19

Extent: 4 items

-Collecting: Private Libraries Association

1983

Container: Box 91, Folder 20

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: Rare Book Librarianship

1971 -1985, not dated

Container: Box 91, Folder 21

Extent: 7 items

-Collecting: Rare Book Terminology

1980, not dated

Container: Box 91, Folder 22

Extent: 2 items

-Collecting: Rare Books and First Editions

1954 - 1984

Container: Box 91, Folder 23

Extent: 9 items

-Collecting: Kenneth W. Rendell

not dated

Container: Box 91, Folder 24

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: Frederick G. Ruffner

1965

Container: Box 91, Folder 25

Extent: 9 items

-Collecting: John MacKay Shaw

1966 - 1984

Container: Box 91, Folder 26

Extent: 19 items

-Collecting: John MacKay Shaw

not dated

Container: Box 93, Folder 6

Extent: 1 tiem

-Collecting: Societies

1969 - 1980

Container: Box 91, Folder 27

Extent: 3 items

-Collecting Henry Louis Stephens

April 1872

Container: Box 91, Folder 27A

Extent: 1 item

-Collecting: Surtees

not dated

Container: Box 91, Folder 28

Extent: 3 items

Books

Robert Burns

-Carrousel for bibliophiles, a treasury of tales, narratives, songs, epigrams and sundry curious studies relating to a noble theme

edited, with an introduction by William Targ

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw Z992.T17 1947

  

John MacKay Shaw

-Childhood in poetry; the forty-year history of a collection, 1929-1969

by John MacKay Shaw

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PN6110.C4S52, Special Collections, Shaw (Rare) PN6110.C4S52

-Special collections: what they mean to librarians, professors, and collectors

 by N. Orwin Rush, John M. Shaw, and Howard Storrs 

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw Z689.R87 Copy 1 and 2, Special Collections, Shaw (Rare) Z689.R87 Copy 1 and 2 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706