Skip to main content

The John MacKay Shaw Collection

The John MacKay Shaw Collection consists of books, works of art, manuscripts, catalogs and ephemera related to childhood. The collection includes bibliographies, biographies, literature, poetry, and criticism.

Publishing

The books and other items on this page provide examples of how the theme of publishing is illustrated in the Shaw Collection.

Publishing Materials

-Publication: Booksellers

1951 - 1962, not dated

Container: Box 92, Folder 1

Extent: 8 items

-Publication: Book History

1984

Container: Box 92, Folder 2

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: Jessie Conrad

1981

Container: Box 92, Folder 3

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: General

1949 - 1985, not dated

Container: Box 92, Folder 4

Extent: 19 items

-Publication: Goodspeed's Book Shop

not dated

Container: Box 92, Folder 5

Extent: 2 items

-Publication: Green Tiger Press

not dated

Container: Box 93, Folder 7

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: Gutenberg Bible

1979

Container: Box 92, Folder 6

Extent: 2 items

-Publication: Michael P. Hearne

1980

Container: Box 92, Folder 7

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: Nonny Hogrogian

not dated

Container: Box 92, Folder 8

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: Golden Hollis

1983

Container: Box 92, Folder 9

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: David Jones

not dated

Container: Box 92, Folder 10

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: Hilton Kramer

1978, not dated

Container: Box 92, Folder 11

Extent: 2 tiems

-Publication: J. and R. Maxwell Publications

1967

Container: Box 92, Folder 12

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: Percy MacKaye

not dated

Container: Box 92, Folder 13

Extent: 2 items

-Publication: Archibald MacLeish

1972, not dated

Container: Box 92, Folder 14

Extent: 6 items

-Publication: George McCutcheon

not dated

Container: Box 92, Folder 15

Extent: 6 items

-Publication: Paper Doll Books

1982, not dated

Container: Box 92, Folder 16

Extent: 2 items

-Publication: Peacock Press

1965, not dated

Container: Box 92, Folder 17

Extent: 11 items

-Publication: Photography

1981

Container: Box 92, Folder 18

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: Heath Robinson

not dated

Container: Box 92, Folder 19

Extent: 2 items

-Publication: Walter Schatzki

1983

Container: Box 92, Folder 20

Extent: 2 items

-Publication: T. Hasegawa Tokyo

1982

Container: Box 92, Folder 21

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: Egerton, Charles

not dated

Container: Box 117, Folder 16

-Publication: Graves, Robert

not dated

Container: Box 117, Folder 17

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: Greenleaf, Robert

not dated

Container: Box 117, Folder 18

Extent: 3 items

-Publication: Reed, Clyde Theodor

not dated

Container: Box 117, Folder19

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: Hoyenga, Katherine and Kermit

1978, not dated

Container: Box 117, Folder 20

Extent: 3 items

-Publication: MacDonald, Augustine

not dated

Container: Box 117, Folder 21

Extent: 1 item

-Publication: Ward, Thomas

not dated

Container: Box 117, Folder 22

Extent: 1 item

Books

Robert Browning

-The Pied Piper of Hamelin

by Robert Browning; illustrated by Arthur C. Payne and Harry Payne

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4222.P5 1895

Lewis Carroll

-Alice in Wonderland

by Lewis Carroll; illustrated by Hume Henderson

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 1928 

-Alice in Wonderland

by Lewis Carroll. Printed in Gregg shorthand.

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 1921

-Alice in Wonderland, the story of the motion picture "Alice in Wonderland"

a Paramount picture based upon the story by Lewis Carroll featuring Charlotte Henry as "Alice"; adapted by Wallace West

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 1934 copy 1 and 2

-Alice's adventures in Wonderland: and, Through the looking glass 

by Lewis Carroll; with ninety-two illustrations by John Tenniel

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4611.A7 1898b

 

Eugene Field

-The sugar-plum tree and other verses

by Eugene Field, illustrated by Fern Bisel Peat

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PZ8.3.F4554Su

 

Rudyard Kipling

-Wee Willie Winkie

by Rudyard Kipling; with new illustrations by Veva Storey

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4854.W38 1938

  

Edward Lear

-Rhymes of nonsense: an alphabet

by Edward Lear; with an introduction by Philip Hofer

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR4879.L2R47 1968 copy 1 and 2

Robert Louis Stevenson

-A child's garden of verses

By Robert Louis Stevenson; illustrations by Paula Rees Good

Call number: Special Collections, Shaw PR5489.C5 1931 copy 1 and 2

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706