Skip to main content

Southern Literature

Welcome to the FSU Libraries’ guide to the literature of the American South.

Welcome

Welcome to the FSU Libraries’ guide to the literature of the American South. Use the tabs above to find scholarship and information on Southern authors and their works. Please feel free to use the contact information for the Humanities Librarian if you have any questions. 

The Confederate states, with the border states & the adjoining portion of the Federal states, J. Bartholomew (Source: Library of Congress, American Memory)

Key Resources

JSTOR

A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.

Literature Resource Center

Includes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select. Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

MLA Bibliography

Multilingual index to books and journals in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1926 to present.

Project MUSE

Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press.

 

Absalom, Absalom!

"Tell about the South....What's it like there? What do they do there? Why do they live there? Why do they live at all?"

-William Faulkner (in Absalom, Absalom!)

Humanities Librarian

Abby Scheel
Contact:
Walk-in office hours for Fall 2016: Tuesdays 2-4pm in the Heritage Museum, Dodd Hall

0027L Scholars Commons
Strozier Library
(850) 645-2163
Social:Twitter Page
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706