Skip to main content

Get the most out of Goldstein!: Goldstein Collections

How to make the most of the resources offered by the Goldstein Library

Catalog Search

(hints)

advanced
| renewals |  library account| Course Reserves

Goldstein Library Collection Overview

The Harold Goldstein Library houses a collection of approximately 65,000 books, videos and CDs. The collection is comprised of professional materials relating to information sciences as well as a juvenile collection featuring multicultural, international, and award-winning works. Check out more and search the collections on the Goldstein website.

Professional Collection (PROF)
The Professional Collection contains multi-format materials in the fields of librarianship, information science and information technology.

Reference Collection (REF)
The Reference Collection contains reference materials supporting the curriculum of the School of Library & Information Studies as well as materials related to general knowledge. Some of the resources in the collection include almanacs, bibliographies, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, indexes and abstracts, library catalogs, and style manuals.

Juvenile Collection (JUV)
The Juvenile Collection is targeted to children and young adults at reading levels of fourth grade and above. The Goldstein collection emphasizes multi-cultural, international and award winning juvenile literature. 

Easy Collection (EASY)
The Easy Collection consists of easy reading and picture books for beginning readers and children up to a third-grade reading level. Many of the books in the Easy collection have received awards for outstanding contributions by illustrator and author. 

Media
Located in the Alcove, the Goldstein's selection of media includes audiobooks, dvds, and software.

Award Winners
The Award Winners Display is located in front of the Desk. This selection is made up of books from the Juvenile and Easy Collections. These include Newbery Medal Winners, Newbery Honor Books, Caldecott Medal Winners, Caldecott Honor Books, and other awards.

Graphic Novels
Graphic novels are a prevalent form of literature and expression in the modern world. The recent popularity of comic book-based movies has renewed interest in this art form. As a part of the Juvenile collection, the Goldstein’s selection of graphic novels are targeted at children and young adults.

Current and Bound Periodicals
Current and Bound Periodicals are arranged alphabetically by title. Many periodicals and serials are available electronically in the FSU online catalog

Associate Librarian

Leila Gibradze's picture
Leila Gibradze
Contact:
Goldstein Library, Shores Bld.

(850) 644-0461
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706