Skip to main content

HathiTrust Digital Library

The HathiTrust is a partnership of libraries and other research institutions devoted to digitizing and preserving their collections and making them available online.

What is the HathiTrust?

The HathiTrust (pronounced 'hah-tee') is a partnership of libraries and research institutions that have come together to build and share a digital repository of print works.  Begun in 2008, the goal of the partnership is to both preserve and provide access to print works.  The HathiTrust has pursued this goal chiefly by digitizing materials like books and journals from library collections and making them available in the HathiTrust Digital Library. 

Logging into HathiTrust

To access all the content and services available to FSU users you must first log in by following these steps:

  1. Go to the HathiTrust homepage.
  2. Click on the yellow 'Log In' button.
  3. Select FSU from the drop-down menu and click 'Continue.'
  4. Enter your Blackboard ID and password and click 'Continue.'

To log out of HathiTrust simply close your web browser.

Searching HathiTrust

HathiTrust offers two ways of searching their content.  A Full-text Search searches the full content of a book, including title, table of contents, the text itself, and any other sections.  A Catalog Search searches a catalog record that lists basic bibliographic information, like title and publisher, as well as information about a book, such as subject terms. 

Each type of search offers a basic, Google-like keyword search option as well as an advanced search option.

Full-text Search

On the HathiTrust homepage the default search option is a keyword search.  You can limit your search results to those items for which the full-text is available to FSU users by clicking on the check box for 'Full view only.'

To access the advanced search option click on 'Advanced Full-text Search' under the keyword search box.  Advanced search allows you to search for keywords in the full text and in specific parts of a book such as the title, author or series.  You can also limit your results by full-text availability, publication year, language and original format.

Catalog Search

Searching the HathiTrust catalog is similar to searching the FSU Libraries catalog.  The default search option on the HathiTrust homepage is a keyword search.  You can choose to search all fields or search certain fields, such as title or author.  You can click on 'Full view only' to search just those items available in full-text view.  

To access the advanced search option click on 'Advanced Catalog Search' under the keyword search box.  Advanced search allows you to search multiple fields at once.  You can also limit your results by full-text availability, publication year, language and original format.

Limiting Search Results

The results page for a Full-text Search and a Catalog Search will look the same.  On the left-hand side of the page is a section entitled 'Refine results' with several options for narrowing down the search results.  Options for limiting your results include subject, author, language, place of publication, date of publication, original format and original location.

What's Available to FSU Users?

FSU users have full-text access and downloading capabilities for those items in the public domain, including:

  • US federal government documents
  • Works published before 1923
  • Works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder


Photo by Porcielcrosa

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706