Skip to main content

Rhetoric and Composition

A guide to resources for faculty and students in the Rhetoric and Composition program in the English department.

Citation Manuals

 

General Citation and Style Guide Sites

Bedford St. Martin's Online Citation Styles

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Strunk's Elements of Style

American Psychological Association Style Guide (APA)

APA style guide to electronic references

Diana Hacker Research and Documentation: APA

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed., FSU Libraries print copy BF76.7.P83 2010

 

Modern Language Association Style Guide (MLA)

Modern Language Association, FAQs

University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center

MLA Handbook, 7th ed., FSU Libraries print copy LB2369.G523 2009

 

Chicago Manual of Style Guide

Chicago Manual Style

Ohio State University CMS Guide

Chicago Manual of Style, FSU Libraries print copy, Z253.C57

Citation Management

Citation management programs are handy tools.  You can:

  • gather and save citations from the catalog, databases and other sources
  • in some cases, save PDFs and other files
  • create bibliographies with one or two clicks

There are a variety of citation management programs available, some free and some with a fee.  Here are two recommendations:


RefWorks (See the RefWorks box below)

  • Free for FSU faculty and students
  • Pull citations from the library catalog and most library databases into an online account
  • Organize citations into folders and subfolders
  • Create bibliographies in hundreds of formats

Because everything is stored in an online account, RefWorks is a good option for those who find themselves working on multiple computers.


Zotero

  • Free for everyone
  • Pull citations from most library resources as well as websites, blogs and other resources
  • Saves PDFs and website screenshots automatically where available
  • Organize citations into folders and subfolders
  • Create bibliographies in hundreds of formats
  • Share lists of citations with a group or with the world using group libraries 

Although Zotero includes an online account, full functionality is only available when it is installed on your computer with a browser plugin.  Zotero is recommended for those who work primarily on their own computers.

Citation Management - RefWorks

RefWorks is a citation program that allows you to easily create a bibliography. It is also a useful tool for saving the sources you may wish to consult later in your research. RefWorks links to the FSU catalog and to many of FSU databases.

RefWorks features include:

  • Import data directly from online databases
  • Organize references by category or project
  • Create correctly-formatted bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, CMS, etc.)
  • Save bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
  • Cite references inside Word documents and generate a correctly formatted bibliography as you write
  • Export collections of references that can be read and processed by other bibliographic software (such as EndNote)

To begin using RefWorks, you must set up an account. If you have an account, log in to begin. FSU's Group Code is RWFlorStateU

For more information, check out the FSU Citation Management page.

Other Resources for Citing Sources

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706