Skip to main content

Victorian Literature

A guide to resources for the Victorian period in British literature.

Primary Sources

Primary sources are historical resources created during the period under consideration.  Examples of primary sources can include letters, diaries, maps, newspapers, and government documents.  FSU Libraries offers a wealth of primary source material related to 19th century Britain.  Use this page to find primary source material online, in print and on microfilm.

The Times

Front page of the London Times for December 4, 1788

Indices

Online resources for Victorian literature

Full-text Databases

Finding early editions in Special Collections

Special Collections offers a wealth of primary resources right here on campus.  Find materials in Special Collections by following these steps:

  1. Go to www.lib.fsu.edu
  2. In the upper right-hand corner click on 'Advanced Catalog Search'
  3. Under Location select 'Strozier, Special Collections'
  4. Enter your search terms and click 'Search'

Request materials in Special Collections by visiting the Special Collections Reading Room that is located on the first floor of Strozier Library.  The Reading Room has limited hours.  For hours and other information, visit the Special Collections website.

Not all materials held in Special Collections have been entered into the catalog.  For more information on uncataloged holdings, see the Special Collections finding aids.  

For help with finding and using Special Collections materials, call the Special Collections service desk at (850) 644-3271. 

Finding online and print periodicals

These other research guides will help you locate 19th c. periodicals in the FSU Libraries collection:

Newspapers Online

A selection 19th c. British newspapers available online.  Links followed by the FSU seal require an FSU login to access off campus.

Newspapers on Microfilm

A selection of 19th c. British newspapers on microfilm:

St. James Chronicle, 1801-1866

Location: Film NP 404

Weekly Dispatch, 1820-1880

Location: Film NP 484

Northern Star, 1838-1852

Location: Film PR 2657

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706