Skip to main content

Music in the US II

Research tips and resources for MUH 5636 written assignments.

Searching tips

Remember these intersecting circles from High School Geometry? They're BACK! It's a Venn Diagram. Think about the words you search as being in a Venn Diagram. That can help you form effective searches in library resources (pssst, and Google too!).

See the capitalized words (AND, OR, AND NOT)? These are called Boolean operators. In resources like the library databases, the library catalog, and Google, you can use those words to narrow or broaden your search.

Here are a few searches you may want to try:

music AND secondary NOT primary

music AND therapy NOT adults

MORE SEARCH TIPS:

  • Use the double quotes to search your words as a phrase: "music education" instead of music AND education. (If you don't believe me, try it!)
  • Use the * (that's shift-8) to help with endings on your words.  For example:  sing* will bring up items with the words sing, sings, singing, etc.

Next Steps

Once you have a citation for an article or a book, whether you found it in a database or a bibliography or cited in an article, what do you do next?

  • If you have an article citation, be sure to check the Full Text Electronic Journals list to see if the full-text article is available online.

  • Look in the FSU Library Catalog to see if FSU owns the item.
    • If the item is not owned by FSU, then you need to broaden your net.
    • Use the

  • If the item is not in the FSU Library Catalog or is a periodical article not held at FSU, you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan. You can fill out the form online.

Feel free to ask your friendly music librarian for assistance!

Time-tested Research Tips

  • Keep track of your searches.
    • What was searched, what kind of search (e.g., keyword, subject heading, author), what database was searched.
    • Making a printout of the first page of the result set is often an easy way to do it.
  • Keep track of your result sets as well.
    • For example, how many “hits” you got on a specific search in a specific database.
  • Date your information.
    • Databases are updated frequently and your counts (and information) will be out of date quickly.
  • Think creatively. Think of different terms to broaden, narrow or limit a search.
    • You may notice words used in citations that may help focus or expand your search.  Don’t forget to use dictionaries and encyclopedias to help you find more terms.
  • Be smart!
    • When subject headings, thesaurus terms, etc. are used to categorize a citation, use that subject heading to find other articles, books, etc. on the same topic.
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706