Research Guides: Risk Management/Insurance: Databases & Datasets

Databases

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online provides U.S. company data as well as international company data including U.S. company data for over 15,000 public companies and their SEC filings, U.S. annual reports, international company data for approximately 17,000 companies, international annual reports, FactSheets, and country information. Records may be retrieved by company name, product or service category, or tradename.
Abbreviation: mergenton
Vendor: Mergent
Subjects: Business, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Hospitality
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Reports

S&P Global Market Intelligence (formerly SNL Financial Data)
S&P Global Market Intelligence is the premier multisector-focused information and research firm in the financial information marketplace. Global Market Intelligence collects, standardizes and disseminates all relevant corporate, financial, market and M&A data plus news and analysis for the following industries: banking, specialized financial services, insurance, real estate, energy and media/communications.
You will need to sign up for an individual account, using your FSU email address. From the S&P Global Market Intelligence registration page, look for the text that reads: "If your company is already a client, click here to register for access." Submit your email address in the box (screenshot below) and your account will be set up.
The Insurance Fact Book
The Insurance Fact Book includes world insurance market, U.S. insurance industry (all sectors), life/health financial data, property/casualty financial data, U.S. property/casualty insurance by line, losses, and factors affecting costs. You can download data by menu choice.
OECD Insurance Statistics
OECD’s annual publication shows official insurance statistics for all OECD countries including data on premiums collected, claims, and commissions by type of insurance; investments by type of investment; and numbers of companies and employees. Data for Singapore, which has an observer status to the OECD Insurance and Private Pensions Committee.

Factiva (20 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, includes access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
There is a 20 concurrent user limit.

Abbreviation: djfac
Vendor: Dow Jones
Subjects: Business, Communication, Finance
Type: Newspapers and Newswires

Best'S Directories (Print & CD)

Best's insurance reports. Property/casualty, US & Canada (available in print HG9655 .B5) 1979-2014

Directory: Provides in-depth reports on insurers, reinsurers and groups, plus a database of retired companies. Find Best's credit rating, identify companies that meet certain criteria, companies' operating methods and management philosophy, etc.

CD-ROM: 2006.3; 2009.2-3; 2011.3; 20121a-2-3; 2013.1-3; 2014.1-3

Best's insurance reports. Life/health, US & Canada (available in print HG8943.B35) 1979-2014