Skip to main content

Allen Music Library Special Collections

Included in this collection are items of local interest, signed items, rare items, and valuable and unique materials including autograph-manuscripts and first edition copies of major treatises.

About Special Collections

Location
Florida State University
College of Music
Housewright Music Building
122 N. Copeland St.
Tallahassee, FL 32306
850-644-5028
Hours

Monday-Thursday 8am - 10pm
Friday 8am - 5pm
Saturday 10am - 6pm
Sunday 1 - 10pm
(break week hours vary)

Charles H. Turner Collection

Charles Henry Turner (1936-2006) was a jazz musician most noted for his position as lead trumpeter for Frank Sinatra during the years 1975-1983.

Turner was born in Bunnell, Florida, in 1936, and attended Florida State University from 1954-1959. During his tenure here he was active in the Marching Chiefs and began to attract attention from outside orchestras, and eventually made his way to Las Vegas. In 1975, Frank Sinatra recruited him to play lead trumpet in both his big band and his smaller tour band, which he did for eight years.

In addition to his time with Sinatra, Turner also performed with Ella Fitzgerald, Jimmy Dorsey, Ralph Flanagan, Harry James, Charlie Spivak, Count Basie, and other jazz notables; he also played with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Turner released one solo album on the Chas Records label in 1984. Entitled What's New, it consists primarily of songs from the Sinatra catalog; Sinatra himself directed the orchestra.

Turner with Sinatra in the studio

 

The Charles H. Turner Collection consists principally of scores and personal effects donated by David Brinson and Turner's mother, Norma Turner. The scores are primarily copies of handwritten arrangements of jazz standards made for Sinatra's band, but there are also some published scores, including a few brass arrangements of Baroque pieces like the six-part Ricercar from Bach's Musical Offering.

Other materials in the collection include photographs, newspaper clippings, and programs; sound recordings; assorted FSU memorabilia; four recorded interviews with Norma Turner; recorded interviews with Ellen Taaffe Zwilich and Florence Ashby, who knew him during his time at FSU; and a Benge pocket trumpet from Turner's collection.

Contact Information:
AML Special Collections
AMLref@fsu.edu
850-644-5028
 

A brief inventory of the collection is available:

Head, Warren D. Allen Music Library

Laura Gayle Green's picture
Laura Gayle Green
Contact:
Allen Music Library
College of Music, FSU
122 N. Copeland St.
Tallahassee, FL 32306
850-644-3999
Website Skype Contact: lauragayle
Subjects:Music
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706