Skip to main content

Allen Music Library Special Collections

Included in this collection are items of local interest, signed items, rare items, and valuable and unique materials including autograph-manuscripts and first edition copies of major treatises.

About Special Collections

Location
Florida State University
College of Music
Housewright Music Building
122 N. Copeland St.
Tallahassee, FL 32306
850-644-5028
Hours

Monday-Thursday 8am - 10pm
Friday 8am - 5pm
Saturday 10am - 6pm
Sunday 1 - 10pm
(break week hours vary)

Using Special Collections

The Warren D. Allen Music Library's Special Collections is a valuable resource for the
Florida State University community, and especially for the FSU College of Music.
Included are items of local interest, signed items, fragile items, rare items, and "truly
unique/rare/valuable" items. Valuable and unique autograph-manuscripts, first edition
copies of major treatises, piano rolls, Braille music, and items from as early as 1584 are
among the many items contained within.

The materials held in Special Collections are intended to be used. However, because of
the nature of the materials, additional rules and regulations for use are necessary in order
to preserve the collection for future users over the long term. This is especially true of
materials which are particularly fragile, rare, or valuable. With that in mind, the
following rules and regulations will apply to all library patrons desiring to use Special
Collections.

Head, Warren D. Allen Music Library

Laura Gayle Green's picture
Laura Gayle Green
Contact:
Allen Music Library
College of Music, FSU
122 N. Copeland St.
Tallahassee, FL 32306
850-644-3999
Website Skype Contact: lauragayle
Subjects:Music
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706