Skip to main content
Find Reference Resources
Bibliography of Asian Studies
This is the online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
This dictionary is a compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources. Its compilation was initiated in 1986 during my first semester of graduate school, upon my realization of the dearth of comprehensive English language reference works for Buddhist technical terminology. Since my basic area of interest was the Chinese Buddhist canon, the orientation of the dictionary has been toward East Asian sources, and therefore the dictionary was known during its first 15 years of existence as the Dictionary of East Asian Buddhist Terms (DEABT). Realizing, however, that a large portion of the content was actually concerned with Indian and other cultural manifestations of Buddhism, and not wanting to discourage potential collaborators with other orientations, we renamed it, in 2001, to the present Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (DDB).
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.
MLA International Bibliography
Multilingual index to books and journals in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from 1926-present.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides.
Oxford Reference Online
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.
Oxford Reference Online contains over 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian, and Spanish. Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.
Selected Reference Works
A Dictionary of Hinduism
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- BL1105.J65 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-25
This new authoritative dictionary covers all aspects of Hinduism,including practices, festivals, beliefs, gods, sacred sites, languages, and religious texts. Almost 2,800 entries cover everything fromTantratotemples, frombhaktitoDivali. The most wide-ranging dictionary of its kind, this brand new AZ also contains biographical entries for key thinkers, teachers, and scholars. All entries are clear, concise, up to date, and fully cross-referenced. Detailed appendices include maps, pronunciation guide, a chronology, principal sources and further reading, and useful websites that will be kept up to date on the books companion website. With clear and concise definitions that cover everything from the origins of the religion to Hinduism in the modern world, this dictionary is essential for students and teachers of Hinduism, theology, Asian studies, or philosophy, as well as the related disciplines of history, sociology, and anthropology. It is also a valuable source of information for all practicing Hindus and for anyone with an interest in Indian religions and culture.
Brill's Encyclopedia of China
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- DS755.G7613 2009
Publication Date: 2008-10-29
Brills Encyclopedia of China (see also www.brill.nl/encyclopediachina ) is a convenient thousand-page reference on China from its early beginnings, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century. Arranged in alphabetical order, it covers the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China. All contributions are written by an international team of European, Asian, Australian and American experts, carefully selected from a wide spectrum of academic disciplines. Originally published and warmly received in German (edited by the GIGA Institute of Asian Studies in Hamburg, published by WBG, Darmstadt, 2003), this English translation, including a statistical data update, will serve both English-language students and faculty in conveniently providing a wealth of reliable and solid information on China. With illustrations, maps, tables, ample indices and bibliographies. Online edition. Next to the printed edition there will be a separate online service with updates twice year, keeping users well-informed on new insights and developments relating to the vast subject. [For more information on the latter, please contact our sales department at firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com]"
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- D860.M55 1998
Publication Date: 1998-10-30
An essential guide to the new states, ignored or suppressed during the Cold War, and the nations that dwell in their borders.
The Anime Encyclopedia
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- NC1766.J3 C53 2001
Publication Date: 2001-09-01
Here is the long-awaited, biggest guide ever, the absolute must-have for every fan, collector, library, and video-store browser. Included are over 2,000 Japanese animation films-from today's Pokemon, Tenchi Muyo, and Sailor Moon to the classic Tetsuwan Atomu (Astro Boy) and little-known artistic gems like the anime life of Mozart-with key personnel, running time, studio, alternative titles, cross references, critical comment, and sex/violence warnings. Illustrated and fully indexed. Jonathan Clements has translated over 70 anime and manga and was editor of Manga Max from 1998-2000. Helen McCarthy is former editor of Anime UK and Manga Mania and author of The Anime Movie Guide, Hayao Miyazaki: Master of Japanese Animation, and, with Jonathan Clements, The Erotic Anime Movie Guide. [box] Also available Hayao Miyazaki: Master of Japanese Animation PB, $18.95, 1-880656-41-8 a_? CUSA
The Routledge Atlas of the Second World War
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- G1038.G5 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-02
In The Routledge Atlas of the Second World War, Martin Gilbert graphically charts the war’s political, military, economic and social history through 257 illuminating maps. The atlas covers all the major events from the German invasion of Poland in September 1939 to the defeat of Japan in August 1945. Focusing on the human – and inhuman – aspects of the war, The Routledge Atlas of the Second World War includes examination of: military, naval and air campaigns on all the war fronts the war on land, at sea and in the air the economic and social aspects of the war the global nature of the war, in armed combat and in suffering the impact of the war on civilians, both under occupation, and as deportees and refugees the aftermath of the war: post-war political and national boundaries; war graves; and the human cost of the war on every continent. This paperback edition includes several updates to existing maps, as well as ten new maps, specially drawn for this edition. The new maps include examinations of Japanese- American and African- American soldiers serving with the United States Army, British women special agents, Belgium at War, and the German occupation of the Channel Islands.
Social Sciences Librarian