Research Guides: Resources for Voice Students: Favorite reference tools for singers

Music Quick Links

Frequently Used Resources

Academic Search Complete
A general periodical index that includes music and interdisciplinary topics among many others.
Chicago Manual of Style ONLINE
Dissertations and Theses
Google Scholar with FSU full-text links
Google Scholar can be a useful searching tool, particularly when it checks against the electronic full text holdings at FSU. This link requires you to log in with your FSU e-mail information-- but it's worth it!
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service where a student, faculty, or staff of Florida State University may obtain books or obtain photocopies of articles from other institutions.
JStor
Main Campus printing plus print drivers
Download drivers to your computer; you can then send a print job to a campus printer and release it/print it on campus!
Music Index Online
Indexes major music periodicals from 1970 to the present.
Oxford Bibliographies
Great resource to target the top readings and resources on specific topics.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Choose "Music"
Oxford Music Online
Great first stop for composer, genre, period, instrument information and more. Article bibliographies get you to the next step in your research. Includes Grove Music and other relevant titles.
more...less...
Contains Grove Music and more.
Purdue Online Writing Lab: Chicago Manual Style
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
The main scholarly index to articles about music.

While online resources are wonderful, some information is still paper-based. Here are citations and call numbers for a few favorite reference books:

Coffin, Berton. Singer's Repertoire. New York: Scarecrow Press, 1960-1962. AML Ref ML128.V7 C67 1960

Coffin, Berton, Werner Singer, and Pierre Delattre. Word-by-word Tranlsations of Songs and Arias. New York: Scarecrow Press, 1966-1972. AML Ref ML54.6 W65

Doscher, Barbara. From Studio to Stage: Repertoire for the Voice. Landham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2002. AML Ref ML128.V7 D67 2002
Dunlap, Kay and Marbara Winchester. Vocal Chamber Music: A Performer's Guide. New York: Garland, 1985. AML Ref ML128.V7 D86 1985
Kagen, Sergius. Music for the Voice: A Descriptive List of Concert and Teaching Material. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1968. AML Ref ML128.V7 K3 1968
Kimball, Carol. Song: A Guide to Style and Literature. Redmond, WA: Pst Inc., 1996. AML MT120.K55 S6 1996 (newest edition ordered!)

Email Me

Contact:

Allen Music Library
College of Music, FSU
122 N. Copeland St.
Tallahassee, FL 32306

850-644-3999

Subjects: Music