Skip to main content
Frontispiece to Phillis Wheatley's Poems on Various Subjects
image by Scipio Moorhead
This page includes a variety of websites with information relevant to the study of women and literature. Generally, websites should be used to supplement or help contextualize your research and should not be used as a substitute for peer-reviewed journal articles and books. Websites with primary source databases can be found on the Primary Sources tab, and websites with information about specific authors can be found on the Authors tab.
Voices from the Gaps
"Celebrating and documenting the creativity of Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women, VG is one of the internet's most comprehensive and well-respected academic databases for women artists of color. We provide innovative teaching and research tools for accessing a global community of women writers of color"
American Women's Dime Novel Project
Information about dime novels for women, 1870-1920.
Friends of Lulu
"Friends of Lulu is a national organization whose main purpose is to promote and encourage female readership and participation in the comic book industry."
Reading Women Writers and African Literatures
"This site proposes an overview of works by female African authors writing in French and others closely associated with Sub-Saharan Africa. It provides an opportunity to find out more about the authors' life and interests and to get acquainted with their novels, short stories, plays and poetry."
A Celebration of Women Writers
Includes digitized special collections on Utopias and Science Fiction, Newbery Awards, World's Fair Women, and Diplomatic Difficulties.
Center for the Study of Women in Television and Film
This site includes links to articles, web sources, and a bibliography of books.
Black American Feminisms
An extensive bibliography on black feminist thought from the 19th Century to the present. This bibliography cites sources from numerous subject areas within the arts and humanities, social sciences, and health, medicine and science, and the citations come from professional, scholarly, popular, mainstream and alternative magazines, journals, newspapers, and books.
Society for the Study of American Women Writers
"The Society for the Study of American Women Writers was established to promote the study of American women writers through research, teaching, and publication. It is the goal of the Society to strengthen relations among persons and institutions in this country and internationally who are devoted to such studies, and to broaden knowledge among the general public about American women writers."
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
An open access website devoted to gender in the ancient Mediterranean world. In addition to a searchable bibliography, Diotima offers course materials, online resources, images and more.
Archives and file collections from WMST-L (Women's Studies Listserv). Includes page for collection on feminist books and films.
VIDA Women in Literary Arts
"VIDA seeks to explore critical and cultural perceptions of writing by women through meaningful conversation and the exchange of ideas among existing and emerging literary communities."