Skip to main content
Research Data Repositories
Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE)
DataONE is the foundation of new innovative environmental science through a distributed framework and sustainable cyberinfrastructure that meets the needs of science and society for open, persistent, robust, and secure access to well-described and easily discovered Earth observational data."
Harvard Dataverse Network
"Share, Cite, Reuse, Archive Research Data
Scientific data for reproducible research". Has data for various fields in social sciences
Climate Data from Datahub
Weather, temperature, carbon, water, soil and all other kinds of climate related open data.
Data from FSU Databases
Our databases provide access to full-text articles and abstracts. However, some databases are a great source for research data.
CountryWatch contains Political and economic surveys and on-line updates of the latest political, economic, corporate, environmental news, and information on the 197 recognized countries of the world.
Government and Non-Profit Data Sources
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
EPA Data Finder
"This site provides access to EPA's data sources organized by subject as well as links to EPA's Public Data JSON file, EPA's Public Excel file, and EPA's Environmental Dataset Gateway. Please tell us what EPA data you want most we understand your data needs."
World Bank Data
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
Includes data related to climate change, energy, the environment and much more
Environment Agency DataShare
Free and downloadable datasets from the UK's Environment Agency. Please note that you'll have to create a free account in order to access the data.
The Envirofacts Multisystem Search integrates information from a variety of databases and includes latitude and longitude information. Each of these databases contains information about facilities that are required to report activity to a state or federal system. Using this form, you can retrieve information about hazardous waste (including the Biennial Report), toxic and air releases, Superfund sites, and water discharge permits
Florida Geographic Data Library
The Florida Geographic Data Library is a collection of Geospatial Data compiled by the University of Florida GeoPlan Center with support from the Florida Department of Transportation.
TIGER Products from the U.S. Census
TIGER = Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing
TIGER products are spatial extracts from the Census Bureau's MAF/TIGER database, containing features such as roads, railroads, rivers, as well as legal and statistical geographic areas. The Census Bureau offers several file types and an online mapping application
A Community Site for Open Data and Maps. To access the data, creating a free account is required.
USGS Land Cover Institute Data
The U.S Geological Survey (USGS) Land Cover Institute (LCI) will endeavor to assist in identifying suitable land cover data sets to meet modern scientists, policy makers, and educators continuing requirements for the most accurate and up-to-date land cover data available
Fish and Wildlife Research Institute: GIS and Mapping
Center for Spatial Analysis staff members use mapping techniques to create information products used by policy makers, scientists, and managers.