Research Guides: Environmental Studies : Journals and Articles

Find Articles from FSU Databases

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the "Find it @ FSU" button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

GreenFILE by EBSCO
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
General Science Full Text
140 titles, including areas of astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, earth science, environmental issues, mathematics, medicine, physics, and zoology
Link includes access to database, training tutorials and mobile apps
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
Extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts from 1985-

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Tutorials:
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665-present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Selected Journals

Here's a selected list of Environmental Studies journals or journals from other related fields. Some are FSU resources and others are open access journals, meaing they are freely available online.

Environmental Health Perspectives
Environmental Health Perspectives (EHP) is a monthly journal of peer-reviewed research and news published with support from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Energy and Environmental Science
A journal linking all aspects of the chemical, physical and biotechnological sciences relating to energy conversion and storage, alternative fuel technologies and environmental science
Environment and Resource Economics
The Official Journal of the European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists
Environmental Economics and Policy Studies
As the official journal of the Society for Environmental Economics and Policy Studies and the official journal of the East Asian Association of Environmental and Resource Economics, it provides an international forum for debates among diverse disciplines such as environmental economics, environmental policy studies, and related fields.
Environmental Health
This interdisciplinary journal addresses issues relating to human interactions with the natural world over time, and includes insights from history, geography, anthropology, the natural sciences, and many other disciplines.
Environmental Politics
"Environmental Politics is sensitive to the distinction between the goals of conservation and of a radical reordering of political and social preferences, and aims to explore the interface between these goals, rather than to favour any one position in contemporary debates."
Environmental Research Journal
Environmental Research publishes original reports describing studies of the adverse effects of environmental agents on humans and animals
Journal of Environmental Management
"a journal for the publication of peer reviewed, original research for all aspects of management and the managed use of the environment, both natural and man-made"

Google Scholar

Directory of Open Acces Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ

DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.