Skip to main content

HFT 2062 International Wine & Culture

This research guide was designed for HFT 2062-001 International Wine & Culture class (Prof. Libby Lewis)

Final Project Parts

Read the assignment instructions carefully. The course textbooks, the reading materials and the lecture files are great places to find information to complete the project. Wikipedia is also a good place to get an overview, but please note that Wikipedia might not be considered as a reliable source for academic papers. 

Project Parts Types of information Suggested Sources
Intro to cultural comparison; Environment

Background info on the country 

 

_Databases & websites for country information 

_Books
_World Atlas of Wine 
Books on world geography (e.g., "World Regions in Global Context" c. 2015, @ Strozier Course Reserves )

-Government websites 

 

Geography Maps 

_Google Maps 

_Rand McNally

_Free Map creation tools 

-World Atlas 

History & Politics 

Information on the history of wine in the country.

Weather, growing practices

Books, websites, encyclopedia articles

Culture  Info on the consumers
Festivals, religious events, fairs, or events dealing with wine in the region

Databases
_Pop Culture Universe: Icons, idols, ideas 

_eHRAF: World Cultures

Access World News

e-Books
_Encyclopedia of Food & Culture

Internet Search Engines

Local food

Newspaper or magazine articles on traditional or trendy local food in the country or region in regard to wine

Databases
_Hospitality & Tourism Complete 
_Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection

_Culinary Arts Collection 

_ Access World News
Economic impact

Statistics on wine export
Data on popularity of wine in the country
Directory of wine producers 
 

Trade associations or coffee research institutes of the country 

Government documents

Books

Final analysis

Comparisons:


Climates 

Popular culture features wine

Religious history and current religious climate in regard to wine production

Similarities & differences in the two cultures

_Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America

_World Atlas of Wine (book)

PowerPoint Tips

Lynda.com

Free online tutorials for software, design and business topics, including the tutorials on how to create presentation slides (e.g. Powerpoint), and customized maps.

You must be an active FSU student or employee to use lynda.com

  1. Log in to myFSU at https://my.fsu.edu with your username and password.
  2. Click on the "Secure Apps" tab
  3. Click on the link that says Lynda.com Online Training

 Once you log on, explore tutorials/topics such as:

  • PowerPoint 2013 Power Shortcuts 
  • PowerPoint 2013 Essential Training 
  • PowerPoint: Using Photos and Video Effectively for Great Presentations 
  • PowerPoint: From Outline to Presentation 
  • PowerPoint Tips and Tricks for Business Presentations 

  • GIS on the Web (Google Maps, Bing Maps, Esri to create map mashups)

Finding & Using Images

Food Images in Public Domain

Food Images in Commercial Domain

           At Usage Rights section, choose "Free to Use or Reuse" option from the drop-down menu. Add keywords such as food, international food, for the search. 

Infographics 

  • Go to Google and run a search using the following search query:

    infographics wine

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706