Skip to main content

HFT 2063 Distilled Spirits & International Culture

Databases for Country Information

Websites for Country Information

International Cuisine

  • Global Gourmet 
    Country profiles along with recipies associated with that country's or region's cuisine 
  • Epicurious.com
    At the advanced search, select cuisine of your choice for recipes

Resources for Food & Culture

  • Culinary Arts Collection 
    This database includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information

  • Encyclopedia of Food & Culture 
    This database presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Covers from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines.  

  • The Oxford Encylopedia of Food & Drink in America 
    This e-Book presents history and culture of food and drink in America.  770 entries on wide-ranging topics from airline and funeral food to fad diets and fast food; drinks like lemonade, Kool-Aid, and Tang; foodstuffs like Jell-O, Twinkies, and Spam; and Dagwood, hoagie, and Sloppy Joe sandwiches.

  • The Oxford Companion to Food 
    by Alan Davidson
    c2006. 
    Dirac Reference TX349.D38 2006 (In-library use only) 

  • Food, Culture & Society 
    e-Journal. 
    FSU has 03/01/2005 to 09/30/2010. 
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706