Skip to main content

SOP3004: Social Psychology

This guide is meant to supplement and complement the in-class session led by a research librarian.

Citing Electronic Sources

APA Style

The APA style manual (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. It refers to the rules and conventions established by the American Psychological Association for documenting sources used in a research paper. APA style requires both in-text citations and a reference list. For every in-text citation there should be a full citation in the reference list and vice versa.

Locations:

Dirac Science Library Reserves BF76.7 P83 2010

Strozier Library Ready Reference (Scholars Commons) BF76.7 P83 2010

Strozier Library Undergraduate Collection 2nd Floor BF76.7 P83 2010

Goldstein Library Professional Collection BF76.8 P83 2010

Medical Library Reference WZ 345P976 2010

Resources

APA: Basics of APA Style Tutorial

http://flash1r.apa.org/apastyle/basics/index.htm

Diana Hacker Research and Documentation: APA

http://www.dianahacker.com/resdoc/social.html

APA Style Essentials Vanguard University

http://www.vanguard.edu/faculty/ddegelman/index.aspx?doc_id=796

Purdue Online Writing Lab: APA

http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/

Eastern Washington University Research Tutorial

http://support.library.ewu.edu/reference/tutorial/flash/citation.html 

National-Louis University Center of Academic Development

http://faculty.nl.edu/cad/presentations/APA%20Formatting.htm

In-Text Citation

What You Are Citing

In-Text  Citation

 

 

 Entire Work

 

(Rogers, 2008)

 

 

 

Specific Page

 

 

(Rogers, 2008, p.39)

 

 

 

If author’s name is included in the text of the sentence

 

 

Rogers (2008, p.9) claims that…

 

**Use only the date, or data and page number(s).


 

Online article with no page numbers

 

(Mayers, 2009, para.3)

 

(Childs, 2003, Introduction, para.2)


 

One author

 

Reference List:

Chance, K. (2005)

 

 

 

(Chance, 2005)

 

 

Two authors

 

Reference List:

Matthews, A. & Keats, J.  (1999)

 

 

 

 

(Matthews & Keats, 1999)

 

Three to five authors

 

Reference List:

Hunt, G. , Vail, M., & Plum, T. (1986)

 

 

First Citation:

(Hunt, Vail, & Plum,  1986)

Subsequent Citations

(Hunt et al., 1986)

 

Six or seven authors

 

Reference List:

Phelps, B. , Lima, M., Gomez, L., MacArthur, T., Gansu, S., & Jepes, N. (2001)

 

 

 

(Phelps et al., 2001)

 

Group Author

 

Reference List:

American Library Association. (2009).

 

 

First Citation:

(American Library Association [ALA], 2009)

 

Subsequent Citations:

(ALA, 2009)

 

 

No author(s) listed

 

Reference List:

 

None to claim their bones: Relics of an old Brooklyn graveyard. (1888, April 12). New York Times, pp.3-4. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com

 

 

 

(“None to Claim Their Bones”, 1888)

 

**If the title contains a colon, only use the text before the colon in the in-text citation.

 

Undated Sources

 

 

 

(King, n.d.)

 

Citing a source within a source

 

Reference List:

Linhares, A., & Brum,P.(2007). Understanding our understanding of strategic scenarios: What role do chunks play? Cognitive Science, 31 (6), 989-1007.

 

 

 

Fredericks study (as cited in Linhares & Brum, 2007) found that…

 

**Your in-text citations gives credit to second source

Reference List

Source

Reference List Citation

 

 

 

Book

 

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. Location: Publisher.

 

Example:

Calgry, R. C. (1991). First Step to Career Success. Washington, DC: USA Publications.

 

 

 

 

Edited Book

 

 

Editor(s) (Eds.). (Year of publication). Title of Work. Location: Publisher.

 

Example:

Duncan, J., & Gunn, K. (Eds.). (1993). Consequences of Fame. Chicago: Sage Press.

 

 

 

Article or Chapter in an Edited Book

 

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year of publication). Title of chapter. In A. Editor & B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pages of chapter). Location: Publisher.

 

Example:

McCarthy, A. (2001). Studying Soap Opera. In Glen Creeber  (Eds.), The Television Genre Book (47-49). London: BFI Publishing.

 

 

E-Book

 

NetLibrary

 

Kornblum, W. (2002). At sea in the city: New York from the water’s edge. Chapel Hill, NC: Algonquin Books. Retrieved from http://www.workman.com/Algonquin

 

**Use the homepage URL of the publisher of the book after the words “Retrieved from.”

 

Free Web

 

Seton, E.T. (1911). The Arctic prairies: A canoe-journey of 2,000 miles in search of the caribou. New York, NY: C. Scribner’s Sons. Retrieved from Project Gutenberg: http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/6818

 

 

Article in a Periodical: (journal/magazine)

 

 

**If articles from a library database are “easily located, do not provide database information. If the article is difficult to locate, then you can provide database information.” ~Purdue Online Writing Lab.

 

Journal:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages.

 

Example:

Scruton, R. (1996). The eclipse of listening. The New Criterion, 15(30), 5-13.

 

Magazine:

Author(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, issue number, pages.

 

Example:

Henry, W. A., III. (1990, April 9). Making the grade in today's schools. Time, 135, 28-31.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Newspaper article

 

IN PRINT

Newspaper:

Author(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of newspaper, page numbers.

 

Example:

Brown, P.L. (1999, September 5). Tiffany glass and other tales from the crypt. New York Times, pp. 1, 5.

 

ONLINE

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper. Retrieved from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url

 

Example:

Foreman, J. (2003, August 12). Allston gothic. Boston Globe. Retrieved from http://www.boston.com/03_8_12/allston

 

 

Article from online periodical (free web)

 

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Online Periodical, volume number(issue number if available). Retrieved from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/

Example:

Berns, D. (2002). 10 tips on writing. Writer’s Guide. Retrieved from http://www.writersguide.com/articles/10tips

 

 

Entire Web Site

 

In APA style there is no need to include an entry for an entire web site in your reference list as long as you identify the source clearly in the text of your paper.

 

Example:

 

The Purdue University Online Writing Lab was extremely helpful in understanding the differences between APA and MLA style (http://owl.english.purdue.edu/).

 

 

Page within a Web Site

 

Purdue University Online Writing Lab. (2009). Reference List: Electronic Resources. Retrieved November 29, 2009, from http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/10/

 

 

Images

 

Library Database

 

Artist. (Year). Title of work [medium]. Location of original work. Retrieved from database.

 

Example:

Rousseau,H. (1896). The ship in the storm [Painting]. Musee de l’Orangerie, Paris. Retrieved from Oxford Art Online Database.

 

Image Reproduced in a printed source

 

Artist. (Year) Title of work  [medium]. Location of original. Title of reproduced work. By author(s). Location: Publisher. Page number.

 

Example:

Rosseau, H. (1896). The ship in the storm [Painting]. Musee de l’Orangerie, Paris. Henri  Rousseau: Jungles in Paris. By Claire Fresches et al. Washington, DC: National Gallery of Art, 232.

 

Formatting Your Paper in APA Style

Citing Sources in APA Style PowerPoint

Research Assistance

For assistance with citing references or citation management software, contact the liaison librarian for your subject area or the service desks in the

Scholars Commons

(850) 644-6061,

the Learning Commons

(850) 644-3084, or

Dirac Science Library

(850) 644-5534.

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706