Resources for Dissertation Writers & Advisors

Theses & Dissertations 

• FSU Dissertations & Theses
  • FSU Theses & Dissertations https://www.lib.fsu.edu/find/etds.html
  • ​ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (FSU)  https://www.lib.fsu.edu/get/dissertation 
     
• ​ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (Global) https://www.lib.fsu.edu/get/dissertations
  • Search non-FSU dissertations and theses
  • Limit your search by institution name and/or department, advisor, committee member, etc.  
• Center for Research Libraries foreign dissertations  http://catalog.crl.edu/search~S4 
  • Freely available to FSU users through Interlibrary Loan
• Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertation’s Global ETD Search http://www.ndltd.org/resources/find-etds
• WorldCat Theses & Dissertations (through WorldCat First Search) https://lib.fsu.edu/get/wcfs
  ​

Resources for Literature Review Articles  

• Annual Reviews database  http://lib.fsu.edu/get/annrev 
• Campbell Collaboration: systematic reviews in education, criminal justice, social policy and social care http://www.campbellcollaboration.org/
• Center for Reviews and Dissemination http://www.york.ac.uk/crd/

Databases for Social Sciences

• Sage Research Methods Online https://lib.fsu.edu/get/srmo
  • Research method books from Sage, such as green books and blue books 
• Social Sciences Premium Collection https://lib.fsu.edu/get/sspc 
  • Search all 8 databases in social sciences at once, using a single interface. 

• Your Subject Specialist Librarian 
  https://www.lib.fsu.edu/scholars-commons/subject-specialists
   
• Ask the Librarian for Help with Literature Review Project
  Schedule a research consultation (f2f, email, phone, or web conferencing system) for:
  • Finding appropriate databases or journals for specific discipline research and highly interdisciplinary research
  • Verifying incomplete or incorrect citations
  • Developing subject-specific search strategies for database searching
  • Creating a plan to acquire or have access to research materials (purchase, ILL, UBorrow, etc.)
  • Replicating a search strategy explained in a paper
  • Learning how to organize citations using citation management programs such as Zotero or EndNote Web
  • Learning how to keep up with new publications on a given topic
  • Formatting citations in a given publishing style (i.e., secondary citation)  

Writing Exercise or Help

• Purdue OWL https://owl.english.purdue.edu/exercises/28/12/33
• FSU Reading Writing Center http://wr.english.fsu.edu/Reading-Writing-Center    
• Academic PhraseBank (from Univ. of Manchester) http://www.phrasebank.manchester.ac.uk   

Help with APA Style

• APA Style Blog https://apastyle.apa.org    
   
• Creating References in Seventh Edition APA Style

Citation Management Tools

• RefWorks…Free to FSU users. http://lib.fsu.edu/get/refworks
• Zotero …. Free to all. https://www.zotero.org/
• EndNote Basic…A Companion program to EndNote. Free to all.  http://endnote.com/product-details/basic
• Mendeley…Free to all  https://www.mendeley.com/ 

Plagiarism Detection Program

• iThenticate  https://www.research.fsu.edu/research-compliance/research-misconduct/ithenticate
  Create an account through the FSU Office of Research. You can copy and paste the text to run an originality report of the text. Uploading the file is also available. 
• SafeAssign or TurnItIn. Available through Canvas

Statistical Consulting Center @ Department of Statistics https://stat.fsu.edu/consulting-center
Free service for graduate students for thesis work and assistance in upper level courses and to faculty for research   
 

• The Graduate School 
  • ​Manuscript Clearance Information 
  • Graduate Student Forms 
  • Funding & Awards 
• University Counseling Center 

“Advice” section of The Chronicle of Higher Education
Access to The Chronicle of Higher Education is available through FSU Libraries.
_Go to  https://lib.fsu.edu/get/chronicle 
_On the upper left corner of the screen, you will see = SECTIONS link.
_Click onto the link, scroll down, then click onto Advice
_ Scroll down then under [More Advice News] click on “The Unmet Mental-Health needs of Foreign Doctoral Students” link. In case you don’t see the link, you can search the site by typing the article title or run a query with "mental health" "doctoral students". The search box will be on the upper right hand of the page.
_ For more related content, check out the bottom of the page, such as 
    "Why does graduate school kill so many marriages” 
    "Why we need to talk more about mental health in graduate school" 

Nature.com
Fairly STEM-centric, but the journal Nature has published a number of articles on mental health and doctoral students. To read the article, please go to Google.com, then, copy-paste the following onto the search box:

     site:nature.com "graduate students" "mental health"

Council of Graduate School
Run this pre-formulated query at Google: